Wanting To Add Fan

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by V1sual B1nary, Sep 22, 2006.

  1. V1sual B1nary

    V1sual B1nary Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    I am wanting to add three more fans to my pc as it is getting rather hot, they say do not plug them into the motherboard and on my PSU i only have 1 four pin connector spare. This is a bit of a problem, so i was thinking if i bought one of those 3 way splitters ive found on various sites would they run fine or would it be putting too much strain on my PSU to run three fans off one connector. Is there any other options?

    My friend was telling me i could buy a seperate PSU and just run the fans off that, is that accurate or something he missed out from doing that?

    Just basically need to know what the best option would be here.
     
  2. FlanteJuice

    FlanteJuice Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Fans dont take that much power to run I have a 450 watt power supply and I run 6 fans easily I also have a fan controller

    Why the hell would you need to buy another PSU unit just for fans???

    What kind of computer do you have I'm going to assume its not custom
     
  3. Painore

    Painore Well-Known Member

    Age:
    52
    Posts:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Location:
    New Zealand
    There would be no need for another PSU unless you have some major fans.. I would say just get a splitter for your 4 pin. Thats how I have mine setup right now.
     
  4. V1sual B1nary

    V1sual B1nary Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    It was custom built, its got a AMD X2 3800 in it
    1GB RAM
    2X 150 GB hard drives raided
    Geforce 7900 GT

    I think that is the major parts included, and i am putting some major fans in it, they will use a total of 45.8 Watts.

    Delta fans, two 80mm fans and one 120mm

    Now i know 45 watts is alot and ive no idea how many watts are used all ready.
     
  5. Blooper008

    Blooper008 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    It doesn't depends mostly on the watts'; its about amps. You each fan consumes about 0.25A and stock PSUs have about 20A on the v12/6 rail.
     
  6. V1sual B1nary

    V1sual B1nary Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Apparently the smaller fan uses 0.86 amps and the larger 2 amps with a 3amp startup.
     
  7. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    you can either use a fan controller(which is optimal) or you could have bough some fans with splitters already on them, pretty much any fan I have will either plug into my board or will have a spliter integrated into it.

    unless you bought expensive fans though chances are it would cost about as much to ge newer and better fans as it would to get a controller. Yate loons
    http://www.jab-tech.com/YATE-LOON-120mm-Ca...12-pr-3009.html
     
  8. FlanteJuice

    FlanteJuice Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    I love my fan controller =)
     
  9. V1sual B1nary

    V1sual B1nary Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
  10. Blooper008

    Blooper008 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Tell us your PSU and no; don't get a second PSU. If the PSU you have can't handle it, buy a better one. We'll say which but a normal 450 watts PSU should be able to handle it. (How many times did I say PSU in this post ;P lol)
     
  11. Zohair

    Zohair Formerly zohBOT

    Posts:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Location:
    Cave
    AMD gets heated to fast maybe you can put it in a cooler place.
     
  12. Blooper008

    Blooper008 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    That's not true. P4 Prescotts are getting hotter then normal A64...Anyway, a good airflow will also keep your CPU cooler, but if it get's to hot you'd have to buy a new cpu cooler.
     
  13. V1sual B1nary

    V1sual B1nary Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    I have an ATX 450, hopefully it should be able to handle it, although i do now need to but numerous splitters so i can fit the dam things. I hope it works so i dont have to buy a new more powerful PSU.
     

Share This Page