Vista

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hootnnuts, Apr 29, 2007.

  1. HellKatzX~

    HellKatzX~ Well-Known Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    I'm using Vista Ultimate and I've experienced a few problems but Photoshop CS3 works fine and I can play Counter Strike with no problems so I'm pretty happy with it.
     
  2. .:Illuminati:.

    .:Illuminati:. Senior Member

    Posts:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    I tried Vista for a short time after it first was released and I liked the presentation and everything, but the fact that a lot of programs didn't work was a big turn-off. So I switched back to XP.

    As for that Cancel/Allow thing, I remember getting that a lot but after going through the help manual, I found a way to turn that off.
     
  3. Hootnnuts

    Hootnnuts Well-Known Member

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    look right below this vvv From: look right above t
    a problem im having is finding themes for vista. all im finding is vista themes for XP and its kinda sad...
     
  4. DDL

    DDL Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Look up WindowBlinds. They have a lot of skins for Vista.
     
  5. Hootnnuts

    Hootnnuts Well-Known Member

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    look right below this vvv From: look right above t
    i thought that was for windows... i used it b4.
     
  6. Shueisha

    Shueisha Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    it messed about with my internet connection for a couple of days but it sorted it self out now i just getting CS2 soon
     
  7. Pat

    Pat Senior Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    I don't have it myself, but i heard from friends it sucks. I'll think about getting it once all the kinks are worked out.
     
  8. Agrias

    Agrias Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    I have vista, and no, it doens't suck... shouldn't know why...
    It's fast(er) , nice lay out, it's something new :)
    what sucks is, that there are some programs who do not work on it...
     
  9. MrBear

    MrBear Well-Known Member

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    I dont wanna ge tit yet. It just cam eout, and it looks really nice and all, but its really unstable and a lot of programs dont work with it. Maybe in a year or so.
     
  10. Greasy Pete

    Greasy Pete Senior Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    9,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    did it cost anything?
     
  11. ferret

    ferret Well-Known Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    United States
    I've got this little thing not to trust Microsoft releases until (at least) the first service pack comes out.
     
  12. //CrazyHorse

    //CrazyHorse Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    I work at a computer store and we are still installing Windows XP on new machines because we can't support Vista yet. The reason for this is that Microsoft won't even support it. Why should we have to support something that not even the developer will help us out with?
    Before a week ago or so, I hadn't used it yet, but I finally worked on one that had Vista, and I see why nobody wants to support it. It looks nice, and has a killer calendar on it, but that's really all it has going for it in terms of features. It's painfully slow at best (what's up with Compaq trying to put it on 1.8GHz laptops with only 512MB of RAM?) and riddled with software issues, like everyone else said.

    Just wait a couple service packs, though. I'm sure it CAN work properly. It's just that the developers don't care enough to make it do so before they release it.

    And for the record, I'm a Mac user because I prefer for stuff to work the first time around. I just have to know windows inside-out because of my job.
     
  13. Hootnnuts

    Hootnnuts Well-Known Member

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    look right below this vvv From: look right above t
    the reason u probably cant install it on the comps is because only the new computers can sue it.

    the sticker has to say:

    Windows XP
    Windows Vista Capable
     
  14. JL Rubidox

    JL Rubidox Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    2,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    I just got a new laptop, which had Vista on it. I love the look. ;)
     
  15. Sorry!

    Sorry! Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    well i have to say i like vista... looks better and whenever i've had a probelm running a program i just set it to run in windows xp compatability mode and it works fine
     

Share This Page