(tutorial To) Add Borders..

Discussion in 'GR Classic Archive' started by SnAcK, Dec 6, 2007.

  1. SnAcK

    SnAcK Member

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    How do u add a border at ur signature when its almost done.. I can't find it anywhere..
     
  2. .HaVoC.

    .HaVoC. ┌∩┐(-_-)┌∩┐

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    6,246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    New Orleans
    <span style="font-family:Comic Sans MS">What type of border do you want?</span>
     
  3. SnAcK

    SnAcK Member

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    hmm I think i'd just prefer a small line at the border.. so I'll take a small line
     
  4. .HaVoC.

    .HaVoC. ┌∩┐(-_-)┌∩┐

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    6,246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    New Orleans
    <span style="font-family:Comic Sans MS">I'm assuming you want something like this.</span>

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. SnAcK

    SnAcK Member

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    idd but only if it is possible I'd like to have them at the vertical (left and right) sides too, is that possible? btw. plz post how that u do that :D
     
  6. .HaVoC.

    .HaVoC. ┌∩┐(-_-)┌∩┐

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    6,246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    New Orleans
    [​IMG]

    <span style="font-family:Comic Sans MS">1. Make a new layer, Ctrl+A, Edit>Stroke and leave the Width on 1 px.
    2. Make a new layer, Ctrl+A, Select>Transform Selection, set the Height to 92% and click the check. Select>Inverse, Edit> Fill, fill it with black.
    3. Make a new layer, Ctrl+A, Select>Transform Selection, set the Width to 92% and click the check. Select>Inverse, Edit> Fill, fill it with black.
    4. Make a new layer, Ctrl+A, Edit>Stroke and set the Width to 3 px.</span>
     
  7. SnAcK

    SnAcK Member

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    wow thank u very much! :)
     
  8. .HaVoC.

    .HaVoC. ┌∩┐(-_-)┌∩┐

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    6,246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    New Orleans
    <span style="font-family:Comic Sans MS">No problem. ^_^ </span>
     
  9. Bleak

    Bleak Well-Known Member

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    You can also try...

    Hit Ctrl+A (or Edit > Select All)
    Then go to Edit > Stroke
    Then make it 2 pixels and the color you want it.

    Then make a new layer and do the same thing but with only 1 pixel. Hold CTRL and then select that layer and go to the previous layer (the one with the 2 pixel border) and hit DELETE.

    You can get rid of the layer you selected, then on the one you hit delete on, go to the layer styles and add a border.... You can even add a gradient overlay to give it a little customization.


    I like to do that on my signatures to add a little more effect onto it... Not many do that. (At least I haven't seen it). ;)
     
  10. .HaVoC.

    .HaVoC. ┌∩┐(-_-)┌∩┐

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    6,246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    New Orleans
    <span style="font-family:Comic Sans MS">Example?

    @ SnAcK: You can also try "3 px borders" or "Selection Borders". They're kind of old and people don't really do them anymore but it might come back one day lol.

    3 px border:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Selection border:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]




    btw.....Those sigs are old as hell lol.</span>
     
  11. ReMnAnT.i

    ReMnAnT.i Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    can someone tell me how to make the rounded edges? like the one in my sig?
    i forgot how to do them :/
    (i made my sig like a year ago)
     
  12. .HaVoC.

    .HaVoC. ┌∩┐(-_-)┌∩┐

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    6,246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    New Orleans
    <span style="font-family:Comic Sans MS">Save the sig as a .png and open it in Photoshop. Double click it in the Layers Palette and click Ok, Ctrl+A, Select>Modify>Smooth, set the Sample Radius to 15 px and click Ok. Select>Inverse and press Delete on your keyboard. Save it as a .png.

    [​IMG]</span>
     

Share This Page