The Right Setup For Cod 4?

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by LostUchiha, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. LostUchiha

    LostUchiha Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    In your mom's room.
    CPU: DualCore Intel Pentium D 930, 3000 MHz (15 x 200)
    RAM: 2048 MB (DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM)
    GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT (256 MB)


    I wanted to know if my setup can play Call of Duty 4 with all the settings on and on high.
     
  2. Marforce

    Marforce Senior Member

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    Your processor sucks, and your video card is far from top end.

    You won't be able to play on high
     
  3. SomeSaySTiCk

    SomeSaySTiCk Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    2,166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Alcatraz Island
  4. LostUchiha

    LostUchiha Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    In your mom's room.
    I see, so what cpu would you recommend? Also what graphics card?
     
  5. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    more or less any c2d(pentium dual core works as well since it's based off of core 2 duo) for the CPU

    for the video card - HD 3850, HD 3870, GeForce 9600GT, GeForce 8800GS, GeForce 8800GT, GeForce 9600GSO

    all of the above would work well and are all over twice as powerful as the 8600.
     
  6. .DeFuZioN

    .DeFuZioN Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    2,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Are you saying his pentium d is based of c2d? That is far from correct, the pentium d series were horrible unless overclocked alot.

    Your current setup should be sufficient to run the game on at least medium. The 8600GT is more or less ok for the time being. Best thing to do would be to buy and play the game, then see how you think it looks.

    DeFuZioN
     
  7. l0l0l

    l0l0l Senior Member

    Posts:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    You should be able to run the game fine, just as long as you don't much care for stunning graphics.
     
  8. Marforce

    Marforce Senior Member

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Canada

    No, pentium D's were based of P4 architecture and suck. I think he's meaning the Pentium E2140/2160's which are based off conroe and cost like ~80$
     
  9. LostUchiha

    LostUchiha Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    In your mom's room.
  10. Marforce

    Marforce Senior Member

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes, a lot. I'd guess you'd have to replace your mobo while to use it though. And you should probably get new ram if you're going to bother doing that
     
  11. LostUchiha

    LostUchiha Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    In your mom's room.
  12. Marforce

    Marforce Senior Member

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    Depends on what mobo you have now. If you can find out what you have now, it'd be much easier to tell you
     
  13. LostUchiha

    LostUchiha Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    In your mom's room.

Share This Page