Resolution

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Pinocchio, Nov 30, 2006.

  1. Pinocchio

    Pinocchio Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Location:
    Location Location
    Right, I'm upping my resolution as I want to get more onto my screen in photoshop as I'm starting to do large pieces.
    My family just went medievil on me because the smaller text and the likes makes them squint there eyes which is bad apparently because they wear glasses.
    Is there any way to change the resolution so it just changes it on my user and not there's?
    thanks.
     
  2. MiCust

    MiCust Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Not that I kno of.. I've had this (family) problem before too. :P
     
  3. XMasterX

    XMasterX Well-Known Member

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    5,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    no, theres not a way. I had this problem also... then i got my own comp..

    just try to make it bigger when you need it, and tone it down when you get done with it..
     
  4. ChiefNX

    ChiefNX Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Or you could get them to choose extra large fonts, icons etc for their visual style.
     
  5. Pinocchio

    Pinocchio Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Location:
    Location Location
    All our icons are on large.
    If anyone finds a way, I'm willing to donate my soul to them.
     
  6. XMasterX

    XMasterX Well-Known Member

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    5,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    there may be a way...

    Start Menu > Programs > Accessories > Accessibility > Maginifier

    ;)
     
  7. Pinocchio

    Pinocchio Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Location:
    Location Location
    I only have accessibility manager in the accessibility tab.
     
  8. XMasterX

    XMasterX Well-Known Member

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    5,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    hmm... think thats only for XP MCe, but i believe all versions of windows does have something like that...
     
  9. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    ok this is a comprimise scenario, this is what I have doen for my family. (They all wanted LCds even though i said nto to get them and were pissed when they found out LCDs look like ---- at 1024*768)

    desktop>>properties>>settings>advanced>>general>>DPI Settings - "120DPI"

    it makes the font about one resolutions worth larger.

    It's a win-win scenario.

    ==================

    also magnifier = windows+u
     
  10. Pinocchio

    Pinocchio Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Location:
    Location Location
    Makes my screen look like ---- though, oh well.
    Thanks for the help.
     
  11. S1lence

    S1lence Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Well if they just do browsing on the net, hold down Shift and move your scroll wheel up and down, it will change the font size.
     
  12. XMasterX

    XMasterX Well-Known Member

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    5,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    if you can't see small text, good luck finding the "Internet Explorer" icon...
     
  13. noc

    noc Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    THat makes my pages switch to what i was just on???
     
  14. WereWolf987

    WereWolf987 Well-Known Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    I used to have a family computer. Then I got my own. But just change the res when you get on and change it back when you get off, oh and delete your history for uhhh... Yea.
     
  15. Pinocchio

    Pinocchio Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Location:
    Location Location
    It's ctrl actually.
    Also guys, I'd rather not here your life story about how you got your own computer.
    We don't have much money, so atm I can't afford to get me own.
     

Share This Page