Raid Or Raptor?

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Blooper008, Feb 3, 2007.

  1. Blooper008

    Blooper008 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Hi,
    I'm thinking of putting my OS in a special disk, but I wonder. What would be faster for gaming, a single raptor has overall a faster response time but less bandwidth then 2 7.2k drives. Also what about cache? I think 2x 16mb cache would be faster then 2x 8mb?. I've read some reviews but I still can't decide. Any opinions? Is the performance so minimal, that I'd better buy a single 320gb seagate barracuda 10 drive? I don't care about noise btw.
     
  2. Pinocchio

    Pinocchio Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Location:
    Location Location
    if you want extreme speed put your OS on a 36gb seagate cheetah 15k rpm.
    then RAID 2 320gb seagate barracudas.
    10k rpm raptor's have a comparable speed to barracuda's with PRM
     
  3. Blooper008

    Blooper008 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    I wont be going for SCSI, so you can drop the scsi 15k rpm hdd.

    I was thinking of buying dual 160GB($50/60 hdd) maxtors with 16mb cache and set them up in raid or a single 320gb barracuda ($100) or a single 36gb raptor ($100). What would be the difference, if you'd take 2 8mb cache drives vs 2 16mb cache drives?
     
  4. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    past 8mb cache gives diminishing returns on harddrives.

    as for gaming, both scenarios would be comparable.


    coming from the WD1500 raptor w/ 16mb cache to a 250GB Baracuda w/ 16mb cache and PRM I haven't noticed a huge performance difference. The raptor was admittedly faster and i can tell, but it's not really a night/day thing.

    two drives in raid might be a better choice if you don't want to spend as much $$$ want more space and are willing to sacrifice a little performance.


    long story short on performance
    bunch of little files - raptor wins
    several large files - baracudas in RAID win.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/02/06/wd1...lead/page8.html
    remember the new PRM drives DO have a bit higher performance than the old standard ones
     
  5. Blooper008

    Blooper008 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Well, whem gaming, you'd have to load big maps (think about BF2, AA etc), I've seen a single 160GB maxtor with 16mb cache, for $55,- so what if I pick up two of those, what would be the difference vs a 150gb ADFD raptor (the newer one serie)?
     
  6. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    if you're really into speed, why not just RAID a bunch of small 36GB raptors and have the best of both worlds?

    look for a sale...
     
  7. Blooper008

    Blooper008 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Because they're expensive, but I'll take a look at marktplaats, kinda like the site ebay, they sell second hand goods.

    Edit; I can get dual 36GB old series for €150 and a sigle 74GB (16mb cache) newer serie for €100. Thinking of just getting the single 74gb.

    THe prices of the new serie, when buying them new, are as follows:
    150GB 16 : 200
    74GB 16: 150
    36GB 16: 100
     
  8. evermotion

    evermotion Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ohio
    I got a 74GB Raptor. It rips faces.

    Personally i would get a single 74GB, and then set up dual 250-360's for movies and junk. Use the raptor for games and a few programs and your set.
     
  9. Blooper008

    Blooper008 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    I already have 3x 160 drives so I only want a fast OS drive now. Can you post a HD Tune screenshot for me?
    http://www.hdtune.com/hdtune_253.exe

    Just start the test and wait till its finished, then make a SS. Also, how noisy is it?
     
  10. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    if you really want speed, you'll probably want an SSD.

    that's what it ultimately comes down to.
     
  11. Konekokaze

    Konekokaze Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    personaly i'd go with a raid.
     

Share This Page