Programs Launching On Startup

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by 0racle, Sep 7, 2008.

  1. 0racle

    0racle Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Okay, here is the problem when I start my computer like 6 programs open, is there a way to stop them from doing this and only make aim and firefox open? It really slows down my startup i remember there was a way to do it wih command prompt once but i tried it and my computer like, died, so help me please?
     
  2. White B O I

    White B O I Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Location:
    Table Town, Arizona
    open run
    start > run
    or
    windows key + r

    type in
    Code:
    msconfig
    and hit enter

    go over to the startup tab and disable everything you don't need,

    be careful though,
    i suggest making a backup before doing any of it, just for saftey reasons

    also programs like CCleaner, Spybot S & D, and Tuneup-Utilities have their own versions of a startup editor that are more user friendly (usually) integrated.

    You can always post a list of what is checked under the startup tab, and i can let you know if its needed or not,

    also, DO NOT mess with the services tabs UNLESS you know exactly what they do, you can make things not work by messing with the service tab, including your internet,

    let me know.
    Best of luck,
    -Travis
     
  3. 0racle

    0racle Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    yeah thats what i did last time and my computer like died, so are you sure theres no other way?
     
  4. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    a computer will not experience hard failure from changing the startup programs...
     
  5. .ZERO

    .ZERO Nigga wit a PSD

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    #gamerenders
    unless you disable windows services
     
  6. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    pop in windows disc... problem solved.

    nothing dies, nothing fails.


    ehh I'm a hardware guy...
     
  7. Leetsauce

    Leetsauce Well-Known Member

    Age:
    15
    Posts:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    Most programs will have an option in the program options (msn does). If yo udont fancy the other method.
     
  8. BetaMerc

    BetaMerc Well-Known Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Location:
    Walk in the Street, go to the sewer, go down, to t
    aim does too :D
     
  9. .vivid

    .vivid Senior Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Alright go to Start > Run type in "regedit".

    Once inside the registry editor go to:

    HKLM > SOFTWARE > Microsoft > Windows > Current Version > Run

    Delete any programs that you do not want starting up in there. Once you are done there go to:

    HKCU > Software > Microsoft > Windows > Current Version > Run

    And once again delete any programs that you do not want starting up. Not sure if this advice applies to Vista as I refuse to upgrade any of my computers to that ----ty OS.
     
  10. White B O I

    White B O I Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Location:
    Table Town, Arizona
    Just write out a list of what's in the startup tab and i'll let you know what you need or not

    But like Xlink said, you dont need anything in startup, it won't mess your computer up by disabling them all,
    but like i said, don't mess around with the services tab,

    another way is to go download CCleaner (google it)
    and they have an integrated startup thinggy

    but its essentially the same thing with a different gui
     

Share This Page