Photoshop Lag

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by LostUchiha, Nov 19, 2007.

  1. LostUchiha

    LostUchiha Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    In your mom's room.
    Ever since I stopped some startup programs, Photoshop has been constantly lagging. It loads fine but when I start making a tag, it lags like hell. It takes anywhere from 5-10 minutes to load. It used to work just fine. I've tried freeing up some memory, but it still lags. I'm not running anything that should lag Photoshop. All the programs that are running when I open Photoshop are the same ones that are always running. They never lagged Photoshop before. What do you think it is? I seriously need some help. I want to make tags again.
     
  2. .ArctiC.

    .ArctiC. Well-Known Member

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    2,144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Location:
    Malaysia
    my photoshop lagged once, when i was making a tut. then i found out that the resolution was way up high (resolution, not size)
     
  3. BetaMerc

    BetaMerc Well-Known Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Location:
    Walk in the Street, go to the sewer, go down, to t
    How much RAM do you have?
     
  4. LostUchiha

    LostUchiha Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    In your mom's room.
    256mb :\
     
  5. BetaMerc

    BetaMerc Well-Known Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Location:
    Walk in the Street, go to the sewer, go down, to t
    That's... really low to run photoshop. Not that you can't but.. that might just be the reason why you lag.
     
  6. inverse

    inverse Banned from GR

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    3,445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Location:
    New Zealand
    You can go into EDIT>>Preferences and adjust the amount of memory Photoshop will use. Whether or not you shut down other programs, Photoshop will limit itself to a certain percentage of your total RAM. I think it defaults at 65%.
     
  7. daemond

    daemond Senior Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    well if it was running fine before, the ram shouldn't be too big of a problem... (couldn't hurt to invest in a gig or two ;) )

    otherwise it may be the resolution like arctic said
     
  8. LostUchiha

    LostUchiha Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    In your mom's room.
    Resolution isn't a problem. The resolution on my comp has always been set to 1024x768.
     
  9. `sparks

    `sparks Jcoca

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    2,478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    843
    I think they mean the resolution of your canvas...

    Also, Im running a a gig of ram and when im smudging on an LP...it takes 3-5 to 'catchup' if Im being really wild with the smudging but other than that...never had a problem with lag...

    LostUchiha: IMO If you can, invest in some RAM, a gig would be great...2 even better. I ran PS CS2 on 512 with no problem for a long long time. So I think just that upgrade would help you out a lot.
     
  10. LostUchiha

    LostUchiha Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    In your mom's room.
    Yeah I'm thinking of investing in some RAM. Maybe I should ask my parents for 1 gig for Christmas, as I have no money to pay for RAM :(

    I think it's me having way to many fonts that lag... Not sure if the amount of fonts you have lag Photoshop. I have over 2000 fonts installed. So maybe that's it.
     
  11. Pernik

    Pernik Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Location:
    United Kingdom.
    The number of Fonts was certainly the cause of my lag. I ditched over 1600 and now it flies.
     
  12. LostUchiha

    LostUchiha Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Location:
    In your mom's room.
    Is there any way to reset to the default fonts?
     
  13. .HaVoC.

    .HaVoC. ┌∩┐(-_-)┌∩┐

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    6,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    New Orleans
  14. inverse

    inverse Banned from GR

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    3,445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Location:
    New Zealand
    RAM is dirt cheap atm. Always worth it if you're running less than a gig.
     
  15. D911

    D911 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    Wonderland
    I get some lag now and again. I have 128 ram and have lost several tags to crashes...
     

Share This Page