Norton Antivirus 2009 Help.

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Daisuke Niwa, Jul 13, 2009.

  1. Daisuke Niwa

    Daisuke Niwa Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    California
    OK, So I'm finally fixing the spyware/virus problem for my Windows Vista.
    & When I try to run Norton in safe mode it says limited access. I really need to get it fixed, so Is it safe to run a scan in normal mode?

    Additional Details
    I'm really concerned cause normal mode is where the viruses/spyware are active.
     
  2. Mortified Penguin

    Mortified Penguin Senior Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    4,560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    There's your problem.

    Solution: Uninstall Norton, install AVG Free 8.5
     
  3. Nicasus

    Nicasus Been watching you all day

    Posts:
    4,809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Try it.
    Nothing bad can happen if it turns out Norton cannot scan in safe mode.
     
  4. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    you fix spyware/adware problems by reinstalling an OS, not using a highly used, often circumvented AV.
     
  5. tinrocked

    tinrocked Member

    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    It depends on what is actually on your computer. If it is so bad to where it has forced you into Safe Mode then maybe you should just reformat. Then again you could be freaking out over something that is nothing at all. :\
    It should be safe in Normal Mode. Just disconnect your interwebz and run a scan if you're that worried.
    PS. Keep Norton. :rolleyes:
     
  6. dope2k9

    dope2k9 The Tut Dude ;)

    Posts:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Behinde your door, Shouting at you.
    -agrees-
    whit some parts. ESET NOD32. I think its the best one.
     
  7. White B O I

    White B O I Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Location:
    Table Town, Arizona
    Do what
    Penguin said, get AVG, its free and better than norton.

    Run vista in safe mode with command prompt only
    when you get it loaded in command prompt navigate to avg
    in xp its
    Code:
    cd "c:\program files\avg\avg8"
    best thing to do is type this
    Code:
    cd "c:\program files\avg\avg8\ 
    avgscanx /?
    and then just type in avgscanx with all the commands you want it to execute.
     

Share This Page