Need Help With Ethernet Cable..

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Aiden, Mar 25, 2007.

  1. Aiden

    Aiden Well-Known Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Right now I have 100 ft ethernet cable running from my parents computer to mine, (going through a few rooms). This is for my internet connection. Well basically im going to be getting their old tv in my room and im going to hook my xbox up to it. Traditionally i would unplug the cable from my comp and plug into my xbox so i could play live. The thing is I want to be able to use my internet AND xbox live at the same time. I was hoping there was some kind of hub or something that i could run 1 ethernet cable into.. and then it comes out of it with 2 cables.. heres a diagram showing it:

    [​IMG]

    I really want to avoid buying another 100 ft cable just so i can do both. I also do have a wireless router, but the connection is way to unstable on it to do any good. (I used it for over a year, cant count the number of scrims i DCed from)

    So.. what is there out there that I can use?
     
  2. Aiden

    Aiden Well-Known Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    only 2 views :/ bump
     
  3. Veej

    Veej Well-Known Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    UK
  4. Aiden

    Aiden Well-Known Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    thats exactly what i was looking for, thanks
     
  5. Veej

    Veej Well-Known Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    No problem ;)
     
  6. Coolguy

    Coolguy Well-Known Member

    Age:
    113
    Posts:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Location:
    New York City
    wow, so that can be used instead of a router?
     
  7. PhanE

    PhanE Well-Known Member

    Age:
    75
    Posts:
    2,580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    HAVOCGFX
    no its just for multiple connection the router has its own ethernet cable and you just plug it into the back of the double slots and then you insert two ethernet cabels into the two slots one for his xbox and the other for his computer.
     
  8. homeboy9

    homeboy9 Senior Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    btw when using that splitter keep in mind you may lose some stability/speed whenever you split a connection it generally gives a slower speed and can drop more often, especially at long distances, but shouldnt be much of an issue if you have high quality cables
     
  9. PhanE

    PhanE Well-Known Member

    Age:
    75
    Posts:
    2,580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    HAVOCGFX
    Most likely since your splitting it unless you have a fast ethernet connection like a T3 i think
     

Share This Page