Might Get New Internet, Is This Good?

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by pimpy101, Jul 22, 2006.

  1. pimpy101

    pimpy101 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Hey everyone, I currently have Sbc Yahoo Dsl, (ADSL)..the speed is:
    1290 Kbps (download) 440 Kbps (Upload)

    I'm paying about $30 a month...

    The cable:
    4000 Kbps max download speed 384 Kbps max upload speed

    Should I look around more? Or do you think this is a fair deal...

    Oh yeah, also it's $44 monthly..

    Also, I live in CA,Orange County, if someone knows any good cable providers please share...
     
  2. fuRiouS_

    fuRiouS_ Well-Known Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Check to see if FiOS is available in your area, CA is one of the first places to get FiOS.
    www22.verizon.com/FiosForHome/channels/Fios/HighSpeedInternetForHome.asp
    You can get 15/2 for only 44$/mo.
     
  3. Red Alert

    Red Alert Senior Member

    Posts:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    comcast? is fIOS available in your area?
    fuRiouS_ beat me too it :lol:
     
  4. pimpy101

    pimpy101 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    the url isn't working for me :(... ill look on the site right now see If I can get it also, 4Mbps would = 4000 kpbs right?

    http://www.comcast.com/Buyflow/default.ashx
    thee 6mps, think that's a good deal?

    Merged Post:


    1 more thing, I took a speed test online it says my download speed is 1297(download) and 418(Upload) But when I click system in my dsl modem it shows 3000 kpbs and 500 kbps

    I'm kinda confused............ 1000 kbps = 1 MPBS so is that what I got for my download speed? Or is it 3 MPBS...
     
  5. Red Alert

    Red Alert Senior Member

    Posts:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    online test arent always accurate best way to know is to actually download from a faster and compare that to what your ISP says what you should be getting. I have comcast 6MB download so I usually download around 750/kbs. As far as FIOS any of telephone companies that have DSL will have FIOS just a matter if the lines have been run in your area gimmie a few minutes I can find out

    Merged Post:


    http://www.dslreports.com/gmaps/fios just click on the map see if any has it in your area or type in your zip code
     
  6. Canada Eh895

    Canada Eh895 Well-Known Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Location:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Hmmm... this "Fios" thing looks interesting..

    Does anybody know if Aliant or Rogers has Fios? I don't think I can get Verizon or Comcast in my area..

    Aliant.net and Rogers.com I think

    You people probably have never heard of either of those ISPs so I don't know what good asking here would do LOL
     
  7. pimpy101

    pimpy101 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Thanks, i'm qualified for fiOs, what's so good about it, i don't understand?

    Also, I was thinking about getting that Comcast 6mbps, but you say you only download at 750 kbs? Isn't that slow???? Sorry, the speed really confuses me
     
  8. Equivalent Exchange

    Equivalent Exchange Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    4 Mega Bits per second is not the same as saying 4 megabytes per second, so you know.

    Mbps is megabits per second, I beleive. Not to be confused with megabytes per second.
     
  9. pimpy101

    pimpy101 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Thanks, was getting confused lol.

    About this Verizon Fios, I might get it...... Online there's this dude I play with his ping is always 20-30 which is amaizing, he is from washington and he claims he has verizon fios. I'm gonna look more into it..
     
  10. V1sual B1nary

    V1sual B1nary Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    That will just confuse him even more, as for the speed you are getting it is quite abit below, try a few other speed test sites like www.speakeasy.net/speedtest also check you router (it you have one) can handle the speed/the rj 45's can handle it ive seen some that cant handle anymore that 2Mbps.

    Not being from America at all i can't help you with providers.
     
  11. ViperAFK

    ViperAFK Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    1,561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Location:
    Vermont
    I'm using adelphia now, it's fast and I havn't had any problems with it.
     
  12. fuRiouS_

    fuRiouS_ Well-Known Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    I envy you, I wish my area had FiOS (soon though). Definitely get it, you WILL NOT regret it.
     
  13. Chilled

    Chilled Senior Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    3,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    England
    yea um i have adelphia and it always disconnects on me and its kinda slow because i have so many spliters in my house the speed is just a bit higher then dsl so..
     
  14. Red Alert

    Red Alert Senior Member

    Posts:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    FIOS will cost about $35-45 for the basic package which is 15mb download and 2mb. If you have money to burn you can upgrade to a 30mb downloadand 5MB upload speed for $199 a month. I pay comcast $43 a month for 6 Mbps/384 kbps speeds. Now which one would you rather have
     
  15. pimpy101

    pimpy101 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    482
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Verizon FTW!! thanks everyone, I'll be getting the 15mb/2mb very soon. :mellow:
     

Share This Page