Internet Connection

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by LaTinO_AnD_PRouD, Oct 23, 2005.

  1. LaTinO_AnD_PRouD

    LaTinO_AnD_PRouD Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Location:
    In Your Mind
    well my problem is that whenevr i want to use msn or limewire or any kind of stuff it tells me that my internet connection is not connected.... so how can i connected... to be honest i have no idea why is that coming up... bu if anybody can help me that would be nice.. i really need this fix.... well i have Windows XP if thast any help... well so can somebody tell me what is wrong..???? :unsure: :unsure: :unsure:
     
  2. cochise

    cochise Well-Known Member

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Your firewall might be blocking it.
     
  3. KoRuPT

    KoRuPT Senior Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, that might be the case.

    Go to:

    Start -> Control Panel:

    Find and click on Windows Firewall and make sure the 'Dont Allow Exceptions' is left unchecked.

    Now click on the tab labeled 'Exceptions' on top and add all the programs you want to be able to use, and your firewall will not block it. You might get a message when you launch the program, to either 'Block' 'Unblock' or 'Ignore'. If you wish to use that program click unblock.
     
  4. LaTinO_AnD_PRouD

    LaTinO_AnD_PRouD Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Location:
    In Your Mind
    ok.. for some reason still its not working... :unsure: :unsure: :unsure: any other suggestion please... ???
     
  5. KoRuPT

    KoRuPT Senior Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    I guess youn can try disabling the firewall to test out the programs. If that does work, then its not the firewall blocking it.
     
  6. .DeFuZioN

    .DeFuZioN Well-Known Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    2,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    have you tried resetting both pc and modem? It could be a firewall built into your modem/router but it isnt the problem if it was ok previously.
     
  7. Mcal

    Mcal Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    connecticut usa
    good luck man its probably the firewall but it could be the programs
     
  8. XMasterX

    XMasterX Well-Known Member

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    5,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    might have a proxy as well... that could goof it up...
     
  9. crakkolix

    crakkolix Member

    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Yeah your firewall could be tha reason
     
  10. DiabloDj1

    DiabloDj1 Well-Known Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    5,610
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    USA/RI
    Give us a quick rundown on your setup and what you have tried..

    Do you use proxies?
    Do you have a firewall other than windows firewall?
    Have you run spyware/virus checks?
    Have you reset/cycled your modem/router?

    I think thats all I can come up with...
     

Share This Page