How To Use New Fonts In Photoshop Cs?

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Kain Saibot, Nov 20, 2004.

  1. Kain Saibot

    Kain Saibot Member

    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Topic...Topic...The fonts that are stock with Photoshop Cs are kind of..weak I mean there the same fonts you find in Wordpad who wants that crap for Banners..

    So How do you use New fonts..Ive download fonts from Dafont and put them in the right folder..but its saying there not there....
     
  2. Gez

    Gez Well-Known Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    1,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    Wales/UK
    they wuld be crap and they aint stock there the one's which come with windows (im assuming u have window) in order to add new fonts you need to install them to do that just go to your windows control panel and click on font then when the screen loads up go to file>install new font, now find and select all the fonts you want to install and click ok. now you have restart photoshop inorder for the changes to take place, and now you have some nice cool fonts to use in every program which allows the use of text (apart from html programs and macromedia fireworks)

    hope it helped
     
  3. glitch

    glitch Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Location:
    usa
    usualy i dont have to reboot ps when i install a new font... i just click on the font list and its there. but that is a safe call, just isntall the font file into the font folder and it should work.
     
  4. Seed

    Seed Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    To install fonts all you have to do is copy the fonts or font that you downloaded to C:\WINDOWS\Fonts (This is what it is normally) and there is no need to reboot after you have installed them. I usually keep a backup of all my fonts, so that is why I just copy whatever font that I download to that directory.
     
  5. EvoL

    EvoL Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    756
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Location:
    Hawaii,U.S.A.
    after downloading the Font,All i do is...

    Start/Control Panel/Fonts...Then Drag & Drop my new font and its all good(No need to Reboot)
     
  6. Gez

    Gez Well-Known Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    1,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    Wales/UK
    no you don't reboot the comp with me i have to restart ps before i can use them
     
  7. JakeMasko

    JakeMasko Well-Known Member

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Location:
    Rhode Island-United States-North America-Earth-Mil
    This is how I get my fonts to work.
    IF you are getting them from DaFont click the button that says save for windows or whatever. It should open the folder with the font and maybe a readme in it. Move the font file to 'my documents'. Once it is there, right click on it and hit copy. Then go to control panel or whatever to get to the font folder, where there should be a list with icons of all the fonts you have already. Then you just right click and hit paste and it should put it there.

    Hope this helps. :D
     

Share This Page