Help Me Build My Computer.

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by thescreenstyle, Dec 14, 2005.

  1. thescreenstyle

    thescreenstyle Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
  2. XMasterX

    XMasterX Well-Known Member

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    5,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    If you don't understand what it is, you don't really need it.

    In a nutshell, RAID can have 2 physical drives act as one drive, or mirror 2 drives, making an exact copy, so when one of your drives go down, the other will kick in automatically.
     
  3. thescreenstyle

    thescreenstyle Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    So instead of having one big drive you just use 2?
    I'm reading about this raptor drive, and it says that it loads windows in less than 40 seconds? I didn't know the hd had anything to do with speed. But I guess it does.
     
  4. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    So instead of having one big drive you just use 2?
    I'm reading about this raptor drive, and it says that it loads windows in less than 40 seconds? I didn't know the hd had anything to do with speed. But I guess it does. [/b][/quote]
    HDD has everythign to do with load speed. FYI it's more like 20 seconds, 150 or less if you have it on RAID0, raid0 is where two identical act as twop fast ones, raid1 is where they duplicate data.
     
  5. Goku

    Goku Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
  6. thescreenstyle

    thescreenstyle Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    HDD has everythign to do with load speed. FYI it's more like 20 seconds, 150 or less if you have it on RAID0, raid0 is where two identical act as twop fast ones, raid1 is where they duplicate data. [/b][/quote]
    Ok, so I should get 2 raptors? Or will it be just as fast if I have 1 raptor and then like a 300 gig to hold all my stuff on?
     
  7. Namrac

    Namrac Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    One raptor should be fine, have your OS and games be on it, and put documents, images, music, video, etc. on the secondary drive.
     
  8. thescreenstyle

    thescreenstyle Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    I think that's what I'm going to do, or possibly just get a raptor and a external hdd.
     
  9. Darealmoyo

    Darealmoyo Active Member

    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 (Depending on your budget)
    Mobo: Asus or MSI
    Ram: OCZ 2x1GB Platinum DDR400
    GPU: Nvidia Geforce 7800GT (Maybe even 2)
    HD: Seagate, Western Digital or Maxtor hard drive.
    Monitor: 19"+

    :D
     
  10. .DeFuZioN

    .DeFuZioN Well-Known Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    2,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
  11. thescreenstyle

    thescreenstyle Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    The gig tower isnt clear?
     
  12. .DeFuZioN

    .DeFuZioN Well-Known Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    2,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    The gig tower isnt clear? [/b][/quote]
    ok I have officially gone insane. I swear I saw a link for an acrillyic case. Anyways get an antec or tagan psu, they will perform and have a better rep than rosewell.
     
  13. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    I think that's what I'm going to do, or possibly just get a raptor and a external hdd. [/b][/quote]
    two larger 7200rmp HDDs in raid0 would be faster than a single 10000rpm raptor, and would hold a lot more data.
     
  14. .DeFuZioN

    .DeFuZioN Well-Known Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    2,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    two larger 7200rmp HDDs in raid0 would be faster than a single 10000rpm raptor, and would hold a lot more data. [/b][/quote]
    i thought they would be too but they arent. http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=440669
     
  15. thescreenstyle

    thescreenstyle Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    i thought they would be too but they arent. http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=440669 [/b][/quote]
    Ok, so now I know what kind of harddrive to get :)
     

Share This Page