Graphic Designing As A Job

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Goku, Jun 22, 2009.

1. Goku

Goku Well-Known Member

I know most of the people here design graphics simply as a hobby, but I'm sure there's a couple people who make a living out of it. I can't find much information searching on the topic. So, for the people that make a living out of this, could I ask about your degree level, salary and years of work experience?

2. inverse

inverse Banned from GR

Can't find much information?!

http://www.freelanceswitch.com/
    http://www.gomediazine.com/
    http://www.abduzeedo.com
    http://www.smashingmagazine.com

I'd also recommend you take a look at http://gomedia.us/forum/. I'm the administrator there, and almost every member is either a working pr.ofessional, or studying at university.

Right now I'm studying for my Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Design, but I also freelance. My going rate is $125NZ per hour, but I also offer set prices for things such as web design and logo design, and then my going rate takes over for any work I do beyond what's part of the design package. Since I'm only doing it part-time, I can't take on large projects, but I make decent enough money doing what I'm doing.

3. .ZERO

.ZERO Nigga wit a PSD

better off becoming a printer than a GD.

4. Zohair

Zohair Formerly zohBOT

I've always wanted to study and get a degree in Graphic Designing but due to lack of colleges and financial problems I wasn't able to accomplish what I desired. But I am glad that at least I could learn to design on my own to a good level. Today, when I look back at the work I used to do, a warm feeling rises inside me and I feel proud of myself.

I'm happy that some of you have been blessed with everything that you have today, that includes but is not limited to - Education -. I hope that I will also find myself in a position to achieve what I've always wanted to; Get a degree in graphic designing and take it up as a ---.fession.

5. inverse