Full Sig Tut For Newbies!

Discussion in 'GR Classic Archive' started by MajorGFX, Aug 10, 2005.

  1. MajorGFX

    MajorGFX Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    A full sig tutorial.

    Brushes needed for this tutorial can be downloaded here, although any choice of brushes can be applied.

    http://www.deviantart.com/download/18540417/

    Firsty open up Photoshop and make a new canvas 400 x 100.

    [​IMG]

    Press D on your Keyboard so it sets the forground colour to black and the background colour to white.

    Now go FILTER>RENDER>CLOUDS

    You should get something like this.

    [​IMG]

    Ok, now we want to get our brush set out that you have loaded, if you have not loaded them load them now.

    Ok, make sure your forground colour is still set to black and now start to use the brushes, try to get them
    flowing nicely and what you think is best and dont add to much, spend a little time here and try not to rush.

    This is what i got.

    [​IMG]

    Press Ctrl + Shift + n, to make a new layer.

    Now press X on your keyboard to switch the forground and background colours around, you should now have white as your forground colour.

    Again use the brushes as best as yoiu can to get that techy abstract look, dont worry too much about this layers as it will be mainly used for highlights.

    This is what i got.

    [​IMG]

    Now go to your Layers Pallete, and switch the mode to Overlay, which gives you this.

    [​IMG]

    Now go to Layer>New Adjustment Layer>Color Balance.

    Play around with the colours and make sure to add some highlights and shadows for a better effect.

    This is what im going to use.

    [​IMG]

    Ok, now again, go to Layer>New Adjustment Layer>Color Balance.

    And fiddle around again to get a decent effect, but a different colour.

    This is what i got.

    [​IMG]

    Now go to your layers pallete and Add layer Mask.

    [​IMG]

    Press D on your keyboard.

    Grab your gradient tool, and drag it across your canvas horizontally, this should give you both colours showing, play around with the gradient untill you get it good, only apply one gradient, if you
    dont like it after you applied it, simply press Ctrl + Alt + z to undo, and try again, this is what i have so far.

    [​IMG]

    Now to ad a border.

    Create a new layer.

    And press D, then Ctrl + A to highlight the outside of your sig.

    Go Edit>Stroke and use the below setting

    [​IMG]

    Now go to stroke again, but use 3 PX and a colour that will suit your background colour.

    Then go back and add another stroke, but 1 PX and black.

    Thats your border done, now just add your text, this is the final outcome, i hope you like the tutorial and have some fun.

    [​IMG]

    Add some final touches of your own and text and you have a simple but unique sig.

    [​IMG]

    Thanks for viewing my tutorial, have fun with your sigs, peace, Maj0rmAsH
     
  2. smasherx

    smasherx Member

    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    nice, i like the blended colors
     
  3. Shady Ace

    Shady Ace Well-Known Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    USA
  4. Mr. Clean

    Mr. Clean Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Location:
    United States
    Yeah, real professional. But I don't hav eany brushes. :(
     
  5. Sniper001

    Sniper001 Legen-wait for it-dary!

    Posts:
    5,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Wow, nice tut.
    It was ez to follow and everything.. did go.. cept im realy new so i messed up :eek:
     

Share This Page