Fubar's Rendering Tutorial

Discussion in 'GR Classic Archive' started by FUBAR, Dec 29, 2005.

  1. FUBAR

    FUBAR Senior Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    I made this for the guys on my forum because they didn't know how to render.
    I know there is already a lot of rendering tutorials here on GR but I was curious what you guys thought. ;)

    This tutorial is not going to be pro by any means but I hope it helps.

    First you need an image to render, here's an easy one for you to follow along with.

    [​IMG]

    - First you want to open the image in photoshop.
    - Then duplicate the image (press ctrl + J) and delete the background image.

    [​IMG]

    - Then you want to double the size of the image.
    - Go to Image>Image Size and just double the settings.
    [​IMG]

    - Now you want to select the pen tool with paths selected.

    [​IMG]

    - Now you should have the pen tool selected and set to paths.
    - Zoom in on the image until you see a good outline, this could change depending on the picture.
    - Now pick somewhere on the image where you want to start.
    - Remember you are going to be going around the image so pick a good spot.

    - Now you are going to click with very small spaces (depending on how smooth you want the render) making a path around the image.

    [​IMG]

    - You can make the spaces between the paths smaller if you want for more detail. I am just doing this as an example.

    - Keep going until you have created a path around the entire image and end up where you started.

    [​IMG]

    - Click on the starting point where you started with the pen tool and it will close the path and it make a solid line around your image.

    - Then right click on the image and select Make Selection...

    [​IMG]

    - Another screen will pop up and it will ask for a feather radius.
    - Try and keep the feather below 1px (I have set mine on 0.5)

    [​IMG]

    - Now go to the toolbar at the top Select>Inverse
    - Then hit delete a few times, this will delete your background.

    [​IMG]

    - Now all you have to do is resize the image back to normal.
    - Go to Image>Image Size and put the original settings back.
    - You are now done, you can add your logo or text.

    - Remember to save the render as a .png so it keeps it's transparent background or this was all pointless. ;)

    Finished Product:
    [​IMG]

    I hope you guys learned something from this and comments are appreciated. :)

    Good luck.
     
  2. Levrar

    Levrar Member

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Thanks, your tutorial has helped me a lot!
     
  3. SirusX

    SirusX Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    thanks i found it to be very usefull
     
  4. FUBAR

    FUBAR Senior Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Thanks a lot for the positive comments guys, I'm glad it helped you out. :)

    Also, thanks for the credits SirusX!
     
  5. FearOfLight

    FearOfLight Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    I'm going to create my first render with this thanks a lot!
     
  6. UV Holla

    UV Holla Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    not that hard to know. pen tool isnt that complicated. so pretty useless if u ask me sorry
     
  7. FUBAR

    FUBAR Senior Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Anytime! I'm glad it helped you.. and good luck. ;)
     

Share This Page