First Tutorial

Discussion in 'GR Classic Archive' started by True Venom, Feb 25, 2005.

  1. True Venom

    True Venom Member

    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Okay guys heres my first tutorial.

    Step 1:

    Make a blank file, size 300x110, , and fill it with white. Get out your grunge brushes(I used stalemateisgod):

    [​IMG]

    Step 2:

    Do the brushing part in Step 1 again, if it gets too dark, use white to darken it down.

    [​IMG]

    Step 3:

    Take your render, I will be using this:

    [​IMG]

    Select it and paste it on, use the magic wand or Magic Eraser tool to get rid of the background at the render.

    [​IMG]

    Step 4:

    On your render layer, use your lasso tool and do a rough sketch of the inside of your render, then press New Layer Mask(has a black rectangle around it in the next screen):

    http://img167.exs.cx/img167/7657/44cw.png

    Step 5:

    After blending it, make a new Color Balance layer(the little half black half white pie icon , next to the folder icon in the Layers panel) The colors I used are:

    Midtones: -50,+62,+75
    Shadows: +21,-36,+2
    Highlights: -54,+2,+37
    (Tick Preserve Lumionisty)

    After that, make another color balance layer, and use the following settings:

    Midtones: -100,-38,-31
    Shadows: +57,0,+43
    Highlights: -100,0,-100
    (Dont tick Preserve Lumionisty)

    After that, go to Filter>Render>Clouds on each CB layer, until you find something you like, this was my result:

    [​IMG]

    Ok, now its looking alright so far, but its not finishd yet.

    Step 6:
    Pick some of your abstract brushes, and make a new layer UNDER the CB layers(I used Wildwolf 11), set the layer to Overlay or Soft Light, and do some brushing on the layer to your liking:

    [​IMG]

    Try mixing white and black.

    Step 7:

    Your sig looks alright now, but its missing one thing:Text.

    The font I used is Ast126, size 24, and Antialias set to Smooth. I made it white. Now set the following blending options:

    Drop Shadow - Default
    Inner Shadow - 60% opacity
    Gradient Overlay - Default
    Stroke - 1px Black Stroke

    Now put it under your CB layers. Underneath, add a quote and give it a 1 px stroke, I used the font Ariel at size 10 or 11, with Anti-alias set to none. Or you can use a font like Visitor at size 6-12.

    [​IMG]

    Satep 8:


    Add a new layer ABOVE all others, then go to Select>All, then Edit>Stroke, make it a 3PX black stroke, do it again but make it a 2 PX White, then do it again but a 1 PX Black. You should have a nice border, but it dosent look quite right, I used the magic wand tool on the white and deleted it to give it a transparent feel, or you can set it to Overlay. Its your choice:

    [​IMG]

    Well done, your finished. But, as a little extra, merge all your layers, then duplicate the layer(CTRL+J), go to Filter> Blur > Gaussian Blur, make it a 2.5 blur, and set the dupe layer to Overlay or Hard Light ,this really ups the sigs colors and it is a good effect.

    [​IMG]


    Thanks for reading ;).

    P.S Sorry if it says UPI a lot, its cause Imageshack sucks.
     
  2. Xodius

    Xodius Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Not bad for newbies, some of the stuff is self explanatory, but its better to have too much detail than not enough
     
  3. DruZ

    DruZ Well-Known Member

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Norway
    nice tut, but i liked the result befour the last step better then the finished sig.
     
  4. RagnaroK

    RagnaroK Senior Member

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    shouldve lowered the opacity for the Overlayed final layer, gives more depth :) but overall great sig for a first ;)
     
  5. 101

    101 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Nice tut.! ;)
     
  6. -Aus10kid-

    -Aus10kid- Well-Known Member

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    I've learnt from my mistakes
    Never merge layers
     
  7. True Venom

    True Venom Member

    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Okay everyone thanks for the comments.
     
  8. samven582

    samven582 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    nice tut.
     

Share This Page