External Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by nickpwned, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. nickpwned

    nickpwned Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    I'm not very good at the Hardwere of a cpu so gonna ask anyone whos on here

    I got the crapyist cpu in the world but can still run some stuff
    and my hard drive only has 20gb or somethin so i wannna get an extrenal one so i can also bring it places..
    So my question is that for external hard drives does it really matter a certain one of external hard drive like do i have to buy a certain model for my cpu?
     
  2. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    nope, nearly anything will work. Just make sure that you get the right interface(usb usually works) some things use eSATA but your computer probably won't have that.
     
  3. shadeinfect

    shadeinfect Senior Member

    Posts:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    ive used my WD mybook on my crappy10+ year old computer for a few years now , im use it mainly on my laptop now but ive had no problems at all and my old comp had a 30gb hd and a crappy cpu aswell
     
  4. Kay87

    Kay87 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Great Britain
    get a USB external harddrive, they are just plug in and use.
    i got a 1TB (well 1000GB) and it was cheap.
    USB work with even old comps as long as they have a USB(obviously)
     
  5. nickpwned

    nickpwned Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    ok thx alot everyone... it was probably kinda retared question for u but ohh welll :) thx everyone..
    I was planing on getting a 1TB (1000 gb) usb one... as u said kay..




    OFF TOPIC:
    Lol my cpu failes so much way to old... only has 1.1GHZ for the processor speed...But my other cpu has 1.4 GHz which still kinda fails
     
  6. Kay87

    Kay87 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Great Britain
    i think i got a piddle 1.4 myself, eugh and my really old comp is 733 -.- still runs the 1tb somehow though
     
  7. inverse

    inverse Banned from GR

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    3,445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Location:
    New Zealand
    CPU power isn't a major factor in hard drive performance. Worst case scenario, it just trasnfers slower than normal.
     
  8. Kay87

    Kay87 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    Great Britain
    nah, it think i read somewhere on my harddrive box that it has its own processor.
    cos the transfer speed is pretty much the same on my old comp as it is on my newer comps.

    but then again i know very little on hardware
     

Share This Page