Enhancing Your Graphics Card?

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by ServeM, Jun 21, 2006.

  1. ServeM

    ServeM Well-Known Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    So I just got a new computer and the video card that I got is:

    256MB PCI Express™ x16 (DVI/VGA/TV-out) ATI Radeon X600 SE HyperMemory

    (dont make fun of it :P)

    anyways, i was playing aoe 3 and it was very laggy. it would chop every 2-3 seconds and I'm positive it was me and not the other players. i had already lowered most of the graphics settings so I don't know the problem. is there a way i can enhance my graphics card to make games run better? what are these pipelines i hear everyone talking about..? or are there anythings i can download online to enhance the performance?

    thanks.
     
  2. Jimma

    Jimma Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    To be honest just adjust the settings to low as possible. Then go up from there. Since you have a X600 a new graphics card would be a good idea. even if its the X800 or X700.
     
  3. ServeM

    ServeM Well-Known Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    What I don't understand is on my old computer which had like a ge force mx 440 or something there was no problems with lag.
     
  4. xelinkstempaccount

    xelinkstempaccount Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    mess with driver setings.

    also, remember that having "hyper memory" or "tubro cache" means a performance hit, as you're using relatively slow system ram as compared to the relatively fast ram used as vRAM. does it have any onboard ram at all?
     
  5. sorrowthedark

    sorrowthedark Member

    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    you might have to change settings, if it is a new graphics card make sure the card is supported by the software and if it not then change everything to low and try that or try getting a new card driver from the card website
     
  6. (terror)

    (terror) dark

    Age:
    113
    Posts:
    1,827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Location:
    Zaçmaz, Azerbaijan
    You can't just tell us your GPU and expect us to help.
    We need your RAM, Processor, MOBO, Video Card, you RPM on your HDD could prove helpful too.
     
  7. ServeM

    ServeM Well-Known Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    3,0 ghz 1 gb ram dunno the rest of that stuff.
     
  8. longhornfreak

    longhornfreak Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    ^^^^^^^^thats good enough, your only problem would be

    connection
    gfx card

    i'd go w/ radeon 9250
    ge-force 6200
     
  9. AKW

    AKW Senior Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Location:
    Athens, Tennessee, USA
    Why would he go down in performance?
     
  10. ServeM

    ServeM Well-Known Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Hmm... Well I played again and it was fine after I lowered a few more things in the game. I guess that might have been the problem.

    But is there any way to boost the performance of my graphics card?
     
  11. aznsushiguy

    aznsushiguy Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    I still dont understand why you lag....that's so werid. I got a ----ty graphics card as you know and your new comp specs = mine for performance. but I didnt lower anything for lag exceptr for what you told me
     
  12. AKW

    AKW Senior Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Location:
    Athens, Tennessee, USA
    ATi tools... google it.
     
  13. ServeM

    ServeM Well-Known Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Yeah I heard about those. I guess I'll go check that out.

    I found these tools:

    Various tools to help speed your developments:

    * ATI_Compress- ATI's library for texture compression (including 3Dc)
    * ATI PIX plugin - ATI plugin for Microsoft’s PIX performance analysis tool
    * CubeMapGen - tool for importing, filtering, visualizing, and exporting cubemaps
    * ASHLI - Advanced Shading Language Interface
    * NormalMapper generates normal (bump) maps from a high and low-resolution model, for PC and the APPLE platform
    * NormalMapperUI - 3DS Max plugin (1.22)
    * NormalMapperUI - Stand alone (1.21)
    * The Compressonator - a tool for compressing textures and creating mip-map levels.
    * RenderMonkey™ extensible shader development tools
    * TruForm™ Resources
    * Bump Map Generators
    * PowerStrip from EnTech Taiwan
    * ShaderWorks from Mad Software, Inc.

    Would any of these help me with games?
     
  14. AKW

    AKW Senior Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Location:
    Athens, Tennessee, USA
    ATI tool is an "it" but yea, check it out. It's cool.

    Not sure.
     
  15. blackhawk_996

    blackhawk_996 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Powerstrip is an outstanding tool but user beware you can VERY easily kill/fry your card if your not carefull...

    Also I'm sure many disagree but I gave up on ATI's catalyst a long while ago. You might give omegadrivers a chance. Save all your current settings first and have a look around here for more info on them.
     

Share This Page