Desktop(transparency?)

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by theteam, Oct 9, 2005.

  1. theteam

    theteam Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    685
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    [​IMG]

    kinda hard to explain, so, you know how some people desktop dont have those white box(like mines) around desktop but instead the icon names goes with the background of the desktop any way i can change it?

    not sure if i made sense :unsure:
     
  2. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    try setting your PC to 32 bit color. right click desktop far right tab.. 32 bit color. also mess around in there for stuff
     
  3. theteam

    theteam Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    685
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    i tried that already, still no luck
     
  4. Truffleshfl

    Truffleshfl Well-Known Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    If the background is a .gif then thats the problem. re-save it as a .jpg. Or are you using an HTML file for your background becuase thats what happens.
     
  5. theteam

    theteam Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    685
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    the desktop is in jpeg, first i saved the wallpaper then i set it as background
     
  6. ImperialPanda

    ImperialPanda Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Heh my roommate has the same problem, no idea how to fix it.
     
  7. Otaku23

    Otaku23 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    canada
    Try a different wallpaper, and see if it happens. If not, you know its your wallpaper.

    Also make sure its 1024x768
     
  8. Speed

    Speed Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    In order to do these steps you will need to right click on the desktop, and go to properties.

    Change your screen reslolution to lowest, then highest, then back to whatever it was.

    Change the color quality 2-3 times. On the last one, put it on highest (32mb) and leave it as is.

    Go to themes, and change the theme to Windows XP, if you have xp, or to any other theme there is. Then switch it back.
     
  9. theteam

    theteam Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    685
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    i tried your steps speed and it didnt work for me

    i change my wallpaper couple of times so i decided to switch it to bliss

    [​IMG]

    i tried messing with the color and it didnt turn out right
     
  10. .DeFuZioN

    .DeFuZioN Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    2,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok heres how to change.
    Go to Right Click My Computer>Properties>Advanced Tab.
    Now where you see performance go to performance settings.
    Now if you computer is new check Adjust for best appearence. if its old just go through ticking and un-ticking until you find the right option that controls the backlight on icon text.

    Hope that helps.
     
  11. theteam

    theteam Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    685
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    i just tried it and unfortunately it didnt work still =[, thanks for the help though


    edit

    i fixed it by doing

    right click on desktop>arrange icon by>and unchecked lock web and desktop
     
  12. Kraybox (old)

    Kraybox (old) Well-Known Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    well done!!!!!
    short post spamspamsapm
     
  13. myst_gfx

    myst_gfx Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    hmm try right clicking ur desktop, properties, apearance tab, advanced button, then try fooling around with some of the settings in there :(
     
  14. XMasterX

    XMasterX Well-Known Member

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    5,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    scammer, he fixed it, bugger off...
     
  15. MasterC

    MasterC Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    thanks a lot! i was having the same problem! +rep for your help
     

Share This Page