Custom Build.

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Pinocchio, Oct 14, 2006.

  1. Pinocchio

    Pinocchio Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Location:
    Location Location
    Hey.
    I need a quality build for my new pc.
    My budget is $1600 or £850, no more. Here's what I need:
    Dual Radeon's (Crossfire)
    2GB of ram
    Motherboard
    CPU
    Sound Card
    Hard Drive
    Optical Drive
    CPU Heatsink
    PSU
    Case
    Monitor
    Keyboard
    Mouse
    All must be from this supplier:
    www.dabs.co.uk
    Must be in stock aswell.
    Each full build will recieve 20 credits.
    No stealing of other builds.
    Quality products only.
    Links must be provided to each product.
    Kfnx?
     
  2. Wynter

    Wynter Senior Member

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    1,508
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Location:
    England!
    Will be fairly difficult to get what you are asking for your budget, but good luck to all those who try. I might give it a go in a few minutes if I cant find anything else to do ^_^
     
  3. Pinocchio

    Pinocchio Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Location:
    Location Location
    I had my old build which included all that (except Crossfire, was running Dual 6600 GT's using SLI) and was alright, except most of the parts were removed off dabs for some reason :S
     
  4. ChiefNX

    ChiefNX Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    If you go for dual graphics then you risk compromising the quality of your other components.

    Without the dual graphics, the build should be achievable (and will still offer you amazing performance).

    After all, you can always buy a second graphics card later.
     
  5. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    ditch crossfire, onyl cards you'de be able to afford to CF would eb x1600s and a single x1900XT outperforms two x1600s and offers about the same performance of two 6800ultras in SLi
     
  6. AsPiCk_666

    AsPiCk_666 Well-Known Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    822
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    why not go SLI, its far superior to Crossfire

    ill do a build for SLI and Crossfire tho
    are you living in europe or wat cuz newegg.com is better than other sites but ill do it as you ask

    *EDIT*


    what you asking is pretty impossible unless you specify more detail items you need


    what will you be using this computer for
     
  7. Pinocchio

    Pinocchio Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Location:
    Location Location
    For the people saying it's impossible to get what I want in that budget, it isn't.
    I took your advice and ditched Crossfire, instead got an x850.
    Here's the build I thought up:
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 Socket 775 1.86GHz
    Asustek P5WD2 Premium Socket 775 Intel 955X PCI-E ATX
    Thermaltake Soprano SECC Silver, Window
    Sapphire Technology Radeon X850 256MB PCI-E
    Creative SoundBlaster Audigy SE 7.1 OEM
    DabsValue 720W PSU Black 12cm
    Akasa S775 3.6GHz Copper Heatsink with PWM Fan
    Seagate Cheetah 15K.4 36GB U320
    Samsung 250GB U133 7200RPM 8MB
    Sony 16x DVD-ROM 40x CD-ROM OEM Silver
    DabsValue 19" Widescreen TFT 1400x900 with DVI input and speakers
    Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard
    Logitech G5 Laser Mouse
    QuietPC Arctic Silver 5 premium 3.5g
    Logitech Extreme 3D Pro#U
    DabsValue Standard to SATA Power Adaptor

    Came out at £895.84, but I threw in some extra stuff.
     
  8. AsPiCk_666

    AsPiCk_666 Well-Known Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    822
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    get rid of the 720w psum you dont need that much


    and your gonna need a scsi controller for that 15k hdd, and why are you even getting that expensive drive when u dont need it


    and your missing ram smart one

    and i hope u have speakers
     
  9. Pinocchio

    Pinocchio Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Location:
    Location Location
    LOLATME
    Forgot the ram and scsi, Crap I've got to cut back even more lol.
     
  10. ChiefNX

    ChiefNX Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
  11. Pinocchio

    Pinocchio Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Location:
    Location Location
    'AI Lifestyle Series
    - Intel 955X chipset
    - Intel LGA775 Pentium 4 CPU
    - Dual-Core CPU
    - Native DDR2 800 Support
    - Universal PCI-E Slot
    - PEG Link
    - AI NOS™
    - Precision Tweaker
    Available SKU:
    P5WD2 Premium
    P5WD2 Premium/ WiFi-TV Edition'
    http://uk.asus.com/products4.aspx?l1=3&l2=...493&modelmenu=1
    GTFO
     
  12. ChiefNX

    ChiefNX Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Just because it says 'dual-core cpu', doesn't mean that it supports c2ds. A pentium d for instance will run fine on that board.
     
  13. EvilTape

    EvilTape Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    http://www.bfecod.com/showthread.php?t=21231

    My thread on it, even though it's on a diff. forum. Just get a better Core 2 Duo and a x1900. (or an x1950, if it even exists)

    EDIT: Oh yeah, select a DVD drive, Sound Card, w/e is missing...
    EDIT2: It's just a component list, I have absolutely no idea if they're available in Canada. :unsure:
     
  14. AsPiCk_666

    AsPiCk_666 Well-Known Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    822
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    get rid of the cheetah drive, you dont need it. if you want a high performance OS drive get a 74gb or 37.5gb raptor. get a antec truepower II 550W PSU instead, optical drive, ram, different mobo and you'll be set. you might want some more fans also


    where do you live and i'll set you up
     
  15. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    f' all of that get a 250GB seagate baracuda with PRM, drive performance is comapreable to that of a raptor, and i should know, i had a wd1500 raptor w/ 16mb cache. it's also a lot cheaper than a raptor.


    also, 955X baords do not support c2d and that is a fact.



    gigashyte ds3 100<s>L</s>
    http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quick...NavigationKey=0
    c2d e6400 150<s>L</s>
    http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quick...NavigationKey=0
    PSU 500W seasonic 78<s>L</s>
    http://www.dabs.com/ProductView.aspx?Quick...ode=1&InMerch=1
    http://www.extremeoverclocking.com/reviews...S12_500W_7.html
    looks like its of high quality... must be a reason antec buys its units from seasonic and rebrands them...
    seagate baracuda w/ PRM 55<s>L</s>
    http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quick...ionKey=42240000
    7900GTO(AKA 7900GTX with a GT's BIOS, just flash it and you have a GTX for 50% off) 180<s>L</s>
    http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quick...NavigationKey=0
    RAM(no clue, not familiar with british pricing)
    monitor - no clue
    case no clue

    I am nto entirely familiar w/ british pricing.

    and also a 7900GTO/GTX assrapes an x850XT, the x850 is comapreable to a 7600GT. IMO it is worth the 2L more for a good improvement in performance.
     

Share This Page