Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh...

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Sir Gudi, Apr 20, 2008.

  1. Sir Gudi

    Sir Gudi Senior Member

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Location:
    Earth...i think
    One word....VIRUS!

    I have no idea where i caught this little bitch, but it's been annoying me for about a month now!

    Basically, a few times a day, i'll get a message from AVG saying either Trojan Horse V (V for Vundo i think) or Trojan Horse 10. The annoying bit is that it is my .dll files! So every time move it to the vault, part of my PC screws up.

    Now, in the place of any advertisements (including the GR ones and sometimes even signatures) i get these stupid things saying "Free Virus Scan Now", "There is a virus sapping your sentries! Scan Now!". And every so often, i get a website come up (not always the same), the 3 most frequent are "My Breast Clinic" and 2 casino ones. So i checked my temp internet files and there were these random files called some random numbers in a web address (like http://82.28.123.12939.983.2.3829.ifjaoiwejfwae.wefwoiefw, not really that, just similar).

    I thought it was an IP address at first, but then it seemed too long. They keep coming back, and they keep getting worse. I have Ad-Aware, Registry Mechanic, AVG free, i've scanned with all of them multiple times, but nothing is found!

    I also get this problem where stuff randomly closes. When in Photoshop with a nearly complete tag....grr.


    All help is appreciated DD::

    EDIT:
    Also, my sound has stopped working.
     
  2. steez

    steez Banned from GR

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    2,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    palm beach, florida
    my best bet is that you also have a RAT
    i dont have any suggestions on what do do though, ask some pros (not here)
     
  3. Greasy Pete

    Greasy Pete Senior Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    9,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    cant you do like a system restore or something?
     
  4. Ravr

    Ravr _______________

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    3,670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    try malwarebytes antimalware, has worked for me everytime :)
     
  5. Sir Gudi

    Sir Gudi Senior Member

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Location:
    Earth...i think
    Will do =]
     
  6. MattMann

    MattMann Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL USA
    If its affecting your system files your best bet is to reformat. It is the only way to restore functionality and ensure that it will not mess up anything in the future. Otherwise you can try to clean it out but never really know what damage it cause, i.e. slowness, incompatability. etc.
     
  7. .ZERO

    .ZERO Nigga wit a PSD

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    #gamerenders
    I lol'd at that one
     
  8. r3m1x

    r3m1x Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    2,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Location:
    New York City
    1) Safe Mode
    or
    2) Diagnostic Mode

    Then virus scan.
     
  9. PhanE

    PhanE Well-Known Member

    Age:
    75
    Posts:
    2,580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    HAVOCGFX
    Most viruses will come back and put itself back into the system restore folder i think that also happens when you delete viruses. The only antivirus that i have seen that gets rid of the viruses that are still left behind after deletion is avast the free version or the U3 flash version.
     
  10. .ZERO

    .ZERO Nigga wit a PSD

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    #gamerenders
    post up a hijackthis log, i'll take a look at it for you.

    Download: http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/programs.php

    Also download ComboFix from Here to your Desktop.

    **Note: In the event you already have Combofix, this is a new version that I need you to download. It is important that it is saved directly to your desktop**
    Do not rename combofix.
    Close any open browsers.
    Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix.

    Very Important! Temporarily disable your anti-virus, script blocking and any anti-malware real-time protection before performing a scan. They can interfere with ComboFix or remove some of its embedded files which may cause "unpredictable results".
    Click on this link to see a list of programs that should be disabled. The list is not all inclusive. If yours is not listed and you don't know how to disable it, please ask.


    Close any open browsers.
    WARNING: Combofix will disconnect your machine from the Internet as soon as it starts
    Please do not attempt to re-connect your machine back to the Internet until Combofix has completely finished.
    If there is no internet connection after running Combofix, then restart your computer to restore back your connection.


    Double click on combofix.exe & follow the prompts.
    When finished, it will produce a report for you.
    Please post the "C:\ComboFix.txt" along with the HijackThis log.
     
  11. EBK

    EBK Senior Member

    Posts:
    4,720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Sac,CA
    spyware doctor!
     
  12. tt speedy1

    tt speedy1 Senior Member

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    673
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    FL
    idk what you guys always wanna reformat =/

    just go into safe mode and do all kinds of scans, turn off your router also just incase =]
     
  13. .ZERO

    .ZERO Nigga wit a PSD

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    #gamerenders
    combofix picks up on 80% of major problems and I can see whats left with a hijackthis log, Hijackthis can pick up alot more than a antivirus.
     
  14. Prince Zainx

    Prince Zainx The Dark Prince

    Posts:
    10,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Location:
    A world far beyond your imagination...
    While reading your post I saw that you already have Avast?
    If so run a 'Full Computer Scan' including a scan on all the Attached Devices and your (C:\ D:\ (other) drives) as well.. Make it High Priority so it scans everything

    If you still get the virus attack on your computer, then tell me:

    - How long has this been going?
    - How old is your computer?
    - Do you defrag quite often?
    - Clean-up your computer?

    [edit]: If the Virus Scan does not fix your computer then continue reading on!

    In Addition, I would say that after scanning your computer,
    Attach an External Hard-Drive and Copy everything that you need. As for the programs you should have disc for their installation.

    Then Use your Recovery Utility (if it came with computer) to delete all the data off your HD.
    Warning: Once you Start this process there is no turning back. It will delete all the Data Off your Current Hard Drive including backup and other software.
    Then run a fresh Install of your Operating System (be it Vista or XP)

    After that Before installing any Device / Programs / Software, install Avast and make it do a full scan again (should be about 5 min since new install does not have that many partitions).

    After that install Crap Cleaner:
    http://www.filehippo.com/download_ccleaner/
    I know that people hate doing Defrag's and C Cleanup of their Drives. .. I use CCleaner once every two days or so to clean up my computer and my Registry files, Plus it has more features as to Start-Up programs and Uninstalling Programs that are not even viewable in Add - Remove Programs Window..

    If you still need help do ask! as I have been in your situation before
    But I have gotten out doing a Fresh Install of Windows, and Currently running newest version of Avast :)

    Hope it helps

    -Zain
     
  15. Slight

    Slight Senior Member

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    742
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    New York
    download NOD32 scan in safe mode :) yeh cost money... but use the trial just to scan and fix things.
     

Share This Page