Advice

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Coolguy, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. Coolguy

    Coolguy Well-Known Member

    Age:
    113
    Posts:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Location:
    New York City
    Ok, this is my problem

    I had a short circuit...

    I bought a open box motherboard, but there was NO video coming to the screen.. So, I got a new gfx card, still had no video... Also got new ram for the hell of it..
    Then, I get a NEW motherboard, and STILL have no video.. The thing is, Ive been using my gfc card and ram in another PC. Now, I have 2 psus, and the one that i had a short with, still has fans running, so im trying to use that.. But ive tried the other PSU and the same is happening. So, The only thing i didnt change was my CPU.. Im now thinking, what should i do, get a new psu, and keep trying the cpu, or it is the cpu and not the psu... BTW this happened back in may, the short to be exact, so im pretty frustrated at this point..
     
  2. Coolguy

    Coolguy Well-Known Member

    Age:
    113
    Posts:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Location:
    New York City
    Bump, Im ganna buy a new E4500 tomorrow so hopefully it was my cpu thats not working. But, I heard that if it was the CPU, my system would not power on at all, which it did, i just had no video.. any suggestions?
     
  3. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    FYI intel has a 3 year warranty(if I'm not mistaken) on their CPUs send your old CPU in if you must.
     
  4. Coolguy

    Coolguy Well-Known Member

    Age:
    113
    Posts:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Location:
    New York City
    oh... wow. ill call them up now.
     
  5. Ravr

    Ravr _______________

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    3,670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    broken monitor perhaps :P?
     
  6. Coolguy

    Coolguy Well-Known Member

    Age:
    113
    Posts:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Location:
    New York City
    nope. tested on 2, and both of them currently work. But if it is the CPU, wouldnt the PC not EVEN start? like the fans wont even spin right?
     
  7. Ravr

    Ravr _______________

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    3,670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    i think the pc would start, but you wont be able too install anything, boot anything or whatever.. fans just spin when it gets power..
     
  8. Coolguy

    Coolguy Well-Known Member

    Age:
    113
    Posts:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Location:
    New York City
    lol i doubt its my monitors, because i used both already with the same gfx card and i get picture and the same ram too... the only thing im unsure of is the CPU, Mobo, and PSU... but i changed the mobo, and the psu... still nothing :( so CPU is like my last reserve..
     

Share This Page