Advice On Building A New Pc

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by [Skyline., Jan 12, 2008.

  1. [Skyline.

    [Skyline. Senior Member

    Posts:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Of course, tons of these topics are spread onto GR everyday...but I am pretty busy now with studying for finals and whatnot so I had to make a new thread instead of taking the time to read other threads. Apologies in advanced.

    Well, I want to build a new PC because the PC I have no isn't performing that great now.
    I don't have that much money to spend on upgrading, but I only need to upgrade core components.

    Keep in mind - I have 2GB of RAM ready, a HDD, and a CD-Rom Drive.

    What I was planning on getting is this:

    CPU - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16819103773
    Motherboard - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16813130065
    PSU - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16817182017

    As for the video card, I was deciding between:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16814102715
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16814130286

    As far as I have seen/heard, the HD3850 is a lot better.


    Also keep in mind that I do not really want to overclock anything, even though everyone will tell me to.

    Thanks in advance,
    Craig
     
  2. inverse

    inverse Banned from GR

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    3,445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Dont get an AMD CPU. All of Intel's offerings atm are much better value and much more powerful. Also, that motherboard you selected has onboard graphics, which would be a waste of money. That PSU is crap, and I would recommend you go for something like an Enhance or Corsair PSU. Buy the 3850. It is much, much better than the 8600 cards.
     
  3. [Skyline.

    [Skyline. Senior Member

    Posts:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
  4. inverse

    inverse Banned from GR

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    3,445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Yes, but a Core 2 Duo will easily overclock to at least 3ghz, which will kick the sh!t out of any Athlon X2. An E6750 will work fine. Stick it in an Abit IP35-E motherboard with a HD3850 and you'll be sweet. Also, is the RAM you have DDR or DDR2?
     
  5. [Skyline.

    [Skyline. Senior Member

    Posts:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    I have DDR2, and as I said in my first post I don't really want to overclock but I suppose I am going to have to, to really get the most out of it.

    How far do you think I could go on stock cooling, and do you think overclocking is necessary (Keep in mind that the most intense games I will play are CoD4 and Lost Planet).
     
  6. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    the 3850 is a fair bit better, over twice as powerful.

    PSU is mediocre Rosewill overrates their crap
    http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=PS-E5140GH
    wait 10 days to buy your CPU, the next revision of c2d is out then.

    board: ehh let me dig up some value boards...


    and FYI you don't HAVE to overclock immediately, you can wait a while. I usually OC my stuff the moment I get it though. At the rate I replace stuff, my parts are sold/unused long before they die. I usually try to have my parts last roughly 5-10 years.
     
  7. [Skyline.

    [Skyline. Senior Member

    Posts:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Wouldn't a 400 watt power supply be a little low? I saw that the 3850 takes up 200 watts under load, and a CPU takes around 200 under load.

    I still have a PSU you recommended me a while back, the ePOWER Puma II (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16817101513).

    Would that PSU be okay for running a 3850 and a (maybe OC'd) 6750?

    Also, I saw that the stock cooler on the 6750 sucks - so what (cheap) HS/F would you recommend for me?

    Thanks again :)
     
  8. ViperAFK

    ViperAFK Well-Known Member

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    1,561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Location:
    Vermont
    Go for a quality 500 Watt psu, A seasonic, or corsair would be good. You want to look at the amperage on the 12v rails.
     
  9. inverse

    inverse Banned from GR

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    3,445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Location:
    New Zealand
    That PSU you just linked, Skyline looks like a piece of crap. An Enhance 400w PSU is plenty of solid power. It's not so much about raw wattage, as it is about the amperage on it's 12v line(s). Stick with the one xlink linked you.
     

Share This Page