Adding Text Over An Image In Dreamweaver

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Undefin3d, Mar 1, 2006.

  1. Undefin3d

    Undefin3d Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Location:
    PA
    I sliced my site and stuff, now how do i add regular HTML text over a designated section? My teacher is gay and all she shows me is to add text in Fireworks, but I couldve added it in Photoshop if its just gonna show over the image.
     
  2. Abet

    Abet Senior Member

    Posts:
    4,338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    what do you mean adding text over an image? do you mean rollovers or links?
     
  3. PS3Talk

    PS3Talk Well-Known Member

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Location:
    Moreno Valley, CA
    If you are trying to add text on top of an image, you may need a text box somewhere in the image and type. :D
     
  4. ale_jrb

    ale_jrb Senior Member

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    My super quick "Add HTML to Slices in FireWorks" tutorial, made specially for you ^_^.

    1. Get your image - I drew a wicked one:
    [​IMG]

    2. Draw the slice you want - I want one round my green rectangle!
    [​IMG]

    3. Change the properties from "Image" to "HTML"
    [​IMG]

    4. Type in the HTML code you want. When you're done, import into Dreamweaver!
    [​IMG]

    Hope this helps.
     
  5. PS3Talk

    PS3Talk Well-Known Member

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Location:
    Moreno Valley, CA
    Dude, he is referring to Dreamweaver. Not Fireworks. But that really helps as well. :lol:
     
  6. ale_jrb

    ale_jrb Senior Member

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    My answer?

    Do it like this in Fireworks. It is the best way.

    Edit:

    It is possible to re-create exactly what Fireworks does from within Dreamweaver (and what Fireworks does is the only way of doing it - it makes a table and sets the image as the background for the cells and puts your code in the table) but Fireworks does it faster.

    :lol:
     
  7. Undefin3d

    Undefin3d Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Location:
    PA
    umm... what do i put in the "Edit HTML Slice"? and then how do i save it blah blah blah blah blah? because i put code in and then just clicked done and its the same

    Merged Post:


    how do i make a textbox also? leaving now... going to next class
     
  8. ale_jrb

    ale_jrb Senior Member

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    OK - more tutorial coming up :lol: !

    5. Add your text (I made a new image as the other wasn't saved :lol:)
    [​IMG]

    6. Go to Export from the file menu.
    [​IMG]

    7. Make sure you are exporting "HTML and Images"
    [​IMG]

    8. Go to Dreamweaver and import Fireworks HTML:
    [​IMG]

    Voila!
     
  9. Racerman

    Racerman Well-Known Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    just use a Layer
     

Share This Page