This folder is basically just for moving deleted threads into that you want to keep but dont want the rest of the forum to see (i.e threads with excessive flaming etc). They act as a reference for if you need them at a later date.
excellent... I installed the same thing when I was admin at Edit Strike, called it the Quarantine Area, was readonly for regular users. So that if they "lost" their post they could check there first before bothering mod/admin. On the phpBB forums you couldnt delete multiple posts from one thread in one single go, but you could split multiple posts in one go and send them to this Quarantine Area. sorry bout the rant... am at work and bored... didya notice?