100 Credits For A Fix/explanation

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by //CrazyHorse, Sep 17, 2006.

  1. //CrazyHorse

    //CrazyHorse Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    Sending 100 credits to the first person who offers me a fix or explanation for this, because I have a very strange problem.

    Whenever i try to download a file in Windows, regardless of the browser, it always thinks the file is 0.0kb and saves it to the desktop as such. It never begins an actual download; the browser just keeps creating these 'nothing' files. I've tried several browsers: FireFox, K-Meleon, and IE, and they all do the same thing, leading me to think it's something with my system.

    I haven't made any big changes recently, other than upgrading to the latest FireFox and installing the Java console. For that reason, it's hard to say when the problem started.

    Anything I can do other than just wipe my system again?

    ...Seems like every time I turn on Windows I'm reminded again as to why I'm a Mac user.
     
  2. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    try right clickking and save as.
    try reinstalling given browser
    try a system restore.
    worst casescenario just to a repair/uprade install of windows.
     
  3. //CrazyHorse

    //CrazyHorse Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    Upon a little more testing, I've found the problem, the the credits are still up for grabs to anyone who offers a solution.

    What's happening is that my computers are losing their network connection as they go to download something. The connection to the internet is fine, until you actually want to download a file. How could I go about fixing this?
     
  4. nym_kalahi

    nym_kalahi Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    internet type?
     
  5. .jrauck

    .jrauck Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Got a question... are you using a router or just a modem for your internet connect? If you are using a router it may be blocking it for some reason. Also if you are using a router is there software installed for it?
     
  6. Knight Rider

    Knight Rider Active Member

    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    i dont think its router because i have one and it runs fine maybe its your firewall :$?
     
  7. foozle

    foozle Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    What's your ISP?
     
  8. AndyMosh

    AndyMosh Senior Member

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Location:
    Barnsley, England.
    Security? Firewall? Clear cache? Clear Cookies? Which ISP you got?
    What type of file are these nothings?Virus?Spyware? Hmm... can't think of anything else...
     
  9. Excalibur908

    Excalibur908 Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Contact Your Inernet Service Provider.
     
  10. VEXTA

    VEXTA Well-Known Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    2,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    Sunbury

    A. Well done for swithing to a Mac :)

    B. i use a PC for gaming only, any i can try to help you, try deleteing all cookies and files and the cashe, try to delete IE, try Opera (very nice) not sure after that but have you tried google ?
     
  11. Element.92

    Element.92 Senior Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    i would guess its your firewall blocking access because it thinks that you are recieving harmfull files. but if it really is, i would just un-install your firewall, because if it blocks files from being dl'ed, its obviously ----. seriously what type of a firewall would block a file. anyway i think there is a sticky posted where you can find a free one
     
  12. XMasterX

    XMasterX Well-Known Member

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    5,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    let the man reply!

    I'm sure it's your firewall, has to be... if you can view web pages you should be able to download files to your computer..

    check for viruses/spyware lately?
     
  13. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    the only technical diference is the operating system and the hordes of mindless drones utttering apple day in and day out. better thana lot of regular OEM systems but really, just get over it, it's a ----ing computer, windows isn't that bad if you know how to pop in a disc and OSX isn't that efficient when compared to a lot of the other things out there.
     
  14. fuRiouS_

    fuRiouS_ Well-Known Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    If you have nforce4 or nforce5 chipset you most likely installed the given firewall or 'SMBus' driver. Go into control panel, click nvidia drivers, check SMBus or anything relating to firewall and uninstall it.
     
  15. xlink

    xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

    Posts:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    FYI there is a possibility you had a bad instal a small scratchon a disc can f' up a lto fi things.
     

Share This Page