My Abstracts

Discussion in 'GR Classic Archive' started by MassFear, Apr 25, 2005.

  1. MassFear

    MassFear Active Member

    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    This tutorial will show you how I create my abstracts.Its basicly just an abstract guide. Lets get started.

    BACKGROUND

    1. Start off by creating a background for your sig. You can do this many, many ways as you probably know. I will discribe 1 way I make mine, but feel free to use your favorite.

    1A. Create a gradient that has a nice adjustment in color.. like so...
    http://img63.exs.cx/img63/6530/untitled1psd9jf.jpg

    1B. Next duplicate this layer twice (layer > duplicate layer)

    1C. On the first one you duplicated (2nd layer total) go to filter>Render>Difference Clouds. Now hit ctrl F a few times until you have a Nice contrast between black and white. Then set the layer mode to soft-light.

    1D. Now on your top layer.. just set it to soft-light. This is what I got so far...
    http://img142.exs.cx/img142/6202/untitled29gz.jpg
    It doesn't look like much, but It works well with abstract renders

    ABSTRACT RENDER
    2. Next put in abstract(s) your going to use and position them where you want them.

    2A. Now, on the abstract, go to image > adjustment > Hue/Saturation. Move the saturation slider to -100 . This will greyscale your image. If it is already greyscaled, skip this step.
    http://img100.exs.cx/img100/2862/untitled33jr.jpg

    2B. Now to add some depth.. duplicate the layer with your render on it.

    2C. Ctrl + Left Click the duplicated layer. This will select your render. Now go to edit > Fill . Fill it with black.

    2D. now set the top layer (the one that is now black) to softlight.
    http://img10.exs.cx/img10/3816/untitled45td.jpg
    http://img10.exs.cx/img10/4400/untitled53xr.jpg

    2E. Looks Kinda dark huh?? Easy to fix.. with the top layer selected.. select the eraser tool with these settings....
    [​IMG]

    2F. Make sure that u have the airbrush selected and start brushing lightly across the render.. use your own judgement on this part, whatever you think looks best...
    [​IMG]

    2G. Now ctrl + left click your top layer.. it will select parts of it.. now Select > Inverse. Create a new layer and go to edit > Fill. Fill it with 50% Grey and hit ok. Change the layer mode to color dodge. Now move it down one layer. It should be the 2nd layer from the top. Now hit ctrl + G to group it with your main render...
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    2H. Now merge the color dodge layer and the shadow layer (the top two layers) down into your render so it is one layer.

    2I. Now to blend your render into the background.There are a million ways to do this. I find it best to use the eraser. Duplicate your render layer first incase you mess up. That way you don't have to go back and redo alot of stuff. Take the eraser tool with a soft round brush at 60% flow and erase around your parts of your render. Don't erase to much, or it won't look right. Now change the flow to 30% and erase a little more. Once again make sure you don't erase to much, or it won't look right. Its all trial and error really. My Result..
    [​IMG]

    2J. Now to add a nice shadow to it.. duplicate your render layer and go to filter > blur > Radial Blur. Use Zoom 75% quality Best and hit ok. Now put that layer under your render layer. Hit Ctl + U and change the lightness to -100 and hit ok. Now change the opacity of it to your liking.. Mine is at 85%.
    [​IMG]

    EFFECTS
    3. Now to add some effects. there are many things you can use. You can add some airbrushing, lightning, Glow sparks, or whatever you want to use, your imagination is the limit here. To find out how to do some of these things.. www.good-tutorials.com . I added some airbrushing to mine.. Next I moved some things around. I also added some more abstract renders with their layer mode on screen and a low opacity. I put them behind the main abstract render to take some of the gradient effect away. Next I took the main render copy and duplicated it a few times.. I then distorted it, twisted it.. and set the layers to soft-light with a low opacity.. kind of gives it a nice blurry effect. This is my result so far...
    [​IMG]

    4. Now to add some more depth.. Layer > New Layer Adjustment > Brightness and Contrast. Hit ok, then mess with the sliders some. It will bring out the highlights and shadows.. just mess with the settings until you get something that looks good. Its not a drastic change.. but it adds a nice little touch to it..

    5. Now to add some color.. Go to Layer > New Layer Adjustment > Color Balance .. Mess with the siders in shadows, Midtones, and highlights until u get the result you want.

    6. Add a grid pattern, some text, some tech, and a picture whatever else you want to do to it... and your done.. My final result....
    [​IMG]
     
  2. tr17

    tr17 Well-Known Member

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Indiana
    Nice tut quick and very easy to follow ;)
     
  3. Liminality

    Liminality Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    yep, thanks for the tut =)
     
  4. «Mult!Colour™»

    «Mult!Colour™» Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    great!
     
  5. JoeBomber

    JoeBomber Well-Known Member

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Location:
    SF CA
    ez 2 follow, bad outcome
     
  6. bsbgmfaz

    bsbgmfaz Well-Known Member

    Posts:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    very simple instrunctions good job
     

Share This Page