The title says it all, for as long as i've used the PS (3yrs) i have never used the clipping mask and now i am looking for some help on to use it exactly.
Its really easy... Layer>New Layer - Do whatever you want, splatter brush, shape, pen tool etc,. Then go Layer>New Layer, Image>Apply Image, Layer>Create Clipping Mask. Now just move the layer around. Done!
Draw a random shape on a new layer. Splatter brushes and thick lines are good. Make a new layer above it, most people apply image with the shape hidden. Press ctrl+alt+g on the applied image layer, then unhide the shape layer. Move the clipping mask around. =D Draw as in make a shape. Not erase the shape.
ok so i made a new layer which has splater brushs on it, now do i make a new layer and do an applied image. The after that what do i do?
After the New Layer then Image>Apply Image go Layer>Create Clipping Mask. Then move the clipped layer around.
ok when i did the applied image and added the clipping mask and tried to move it around the clipping mask disappeared
Yep, look at where you did the Splatters on the below layer. The applied image will now be moving around within them, see? ^_^
lol...you don't move it around in the layer pallette...you hit ctrl-t or w/e and move the applied image layer so it shows through the layer below it.