Go Back   GameRenders Forums > Entertainment > Gaming

Gaming Put those triggerfingers to another use and talk about your favourite games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2006, 05:52 AM   #1
Littlej
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,974
Credits: 0
Savings: 0
Default

Well personally I think this comp sounds really good for what I need anyway which will basically just be for Graphic Design and the other usual things. But I want to know what everyone else thinks.

It has:

-AMD Athlon™ 64 processor 3800+
(512KB L2 Cache, 2.4GHz)
-1GB RAM
-320GB Hard Drive (With Native Command Queuing)
-19" LCD Flat Pannel Monitor
-Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005
-Google Software
-McAfee Security Center - 15 Months
-Intergrated Sound Blaster
-Dell A525 Stereo Speakers with Subwoofers
-256MB PCIe™x16 NVIDIA® GeForce® 7300LE TurboCache x/TV-Out

And a lot of other things, we got this through Dell for $1800.

Also would someone be able to tell me what that Native Command Queuing is?
__________________
<div align="center">




Gifts: [.X'ed][Galione][Saki][Kirbir][zoopy]
</div>
Littlej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 05:58 AM   #2
DraveN
Senior Member
 
DraveN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 8,532
Credits: 8
Savings: 0
Default

from what i understand arn't dell pc's sealed units? so you may find it hard to get into if you need to upgrade,make sure you get everything you need now before hand
__________________

~And so gently you came rapping,
And so faintly you came tapping, tapping at my chamber door,
That I scarce was sure I heard you" here I opened wide the door;
-Darkness there and nothing more.~
DraveN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 06:04 AM   #3
Littlej
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,974
Credits: 0
Savings: 0
Default

We were either going to upgrade our old computer if it started working again which it wouldn't so we just got a new one instead with a lot more than I would ever need I think. I don't think we will ever upgrade this one before buying a new comp

Funny thing is as soon as we bought the new comp this one started working perfectly again lol.
__________________
<div align="center">




Gifts: [.X'ed][Galione][Saki][Kirbir][zoopy]
</div>
Littlej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 06:24 AM   #4
Greasy Pete
Senior Member
 
Greasy Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 22
Posts: 9,578
Credits: 343
Savings: 0
Send a message via AIM to Greasy Pete Send a message via MSN to Greasy Pete Send a message via Yahoo to Greasy Pete
Default

Originally posted by DraveN@Dec 8 2006, 06:58 AM
from what i understand arn't dell pc's sealed units? so you may find it hard to get into if you need to upgrade,make sure you get everything you need now before hand
[snapback]3319438[/snapback]

no i don't think they are, or at least not all of em...
__________________





ಠ_ಠ ಥ_ಥ
Greasy Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 06:45 AM   #5
-=DaRKSTaR=-
Senior Member
 
-=DaRKSTaR=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Derby & Leicester, UK
Age: 26
Posts: 3,979
Credits: 399
Savings: 0
Send a message via MSN to -=DaRKSTaR=-
Default

Native command queuing is ...

Native Command Queuing (NCQ) is a technology designed to increase performance of SATA hard disks by allowing the individual hard disk to receive more than one I/O request at a time and dynamically change the order in which they are applied. Using detailed knowledge of its own seek times and rotational position, the drive can compute the best order to perform the operations. This can reduce the amount of unnecessary seeking (going back-and-forth) of the drive's heads, resulting in increased performance (and slightly decreased wear of the drive) for workloads where multiple simultaneous read/write requests are outstanding, most often occurring in server-type applications, gaming, and other multi-tasking environments.
Its alright - Personally I hate Dell - But that PC price is expensive - $1800 :o Maybe coz I live in UK and basically halving that is like £900 which you can build a supreme PC here

Well Wheres Xelink

DarkStar
__________________
3DMANIAC
[3DSMAX | MAYA | C4D | BRYCE | BLENDER]


-=DaRKSTaR=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 06:50 AM   #6
Littlej
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,974
Credits: 0
Savings: 0
Default

Thanks for that.

Oh and that's AUD$1800 btw.
__________________
<div align="center">




Gifts: [.X'ed][Galione][Saki][Kirbir][zoopy]
</div>
Littlej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 09:02 AM   #7
LOX311
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 801
Credits: 0
Savings: 0
Default

I don't really know, i bought mine last year for 1300$
it has:
-AMD Athlon™ 64 processorx2 4200+
(512KB L2 Cache)
-2GB RAM
-250GB Hard Drive (With Native Command Queuing)
-20.1" LG LCD Res:1680 x 1050 & 5ms
-Windows XP ---. (sp2)
-Norton Antivirus (full)
-7.1 Sound Card
-256MB PCIe™x16 NVIDIA® GeForce® 7800GTX /TV-Out
...
__________________


LOX311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 11:03 AM   #8
dementia
*****istrator
 
dementia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London
Age: 25
Posts: 6,451
Credits: 978
Savings: 0
Send a message via MSN to dementia
Default

cyberpowerpc.com

Custom computers, no added BS... The computer you have would run about... $1443 with OS, or $1360 without an OS.

However, I would also recommend you do not go with AMD atm, because they are overpriced, and greatly underpowered compared to the Intel Core 2 Duos...

The comparison in Core 2 Duo is about $1423 w/out OS, $1506 w/ OS, but it greatly out performs the AMD.
__________________

+Dementia +iPoo +JCoca +Tnuck +Majin +Jay +Faith.09 +Lbot +Undertow
+Broken +Nicasus +Steez +Diorvirp
dementia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 01:44 PM   #9
XMasterX
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 5,407
Credits: 428
Savings: 0
Send a message via MSN to XMasterX
Default

if you must go AMD, get AM2, when K8L comes out, you can upgrade to that.

And dells are OK, just dont expect to play BF2 on full...
__________________


-------Gifts--------
[X][X][X][X]

------ADV--------
Gamer's Unit - Cheats, Clans, and Fun
XMasterX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 02:14 PM   #10
DiabloDj1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA/RI
Age: 23
Posts: 5,658
Credits: 201
Savings: 0
Default

No offense but I got the same computer for about 1400 (if you add XP it was like what, 1550 or w.e.. i got it free tho) and mines better.
Same cpu - but dual core. Same amount of ram. - as far as I know my gfx card is much better - same size/type monitor. - 1337 speakers - and HD wize.. i got two adding up to 280 so maybe you got more space but thats a bit of a ripoff.

EDIT: idk, Aussie dollars vs. US - you might of had a decent price idk.
And whoever got that other pc for 1300 thats a sweet deal.
__________________
Steam Acct with 12 games, $20, take it.

My Really Old Respect List: Namrac, Pink Floyd/Fry, ShneakySquirrel, xelink, xMasterx, GuitarGuru, Majiny, Jay, Renagade, Morv, Boxiom, AssailantOperative, Dementia., DarkStar., Broken, Blazeman
DiabloDj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 03:01 PM   #11
ViperAFK
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vermont
Age: 24
Posts: 1,579
Credits: 447
Savings: 0
Send a message via AIM to ViperAFK Send a message via MSN to ViperAFK
Default

Originally posted by DraveN@Dec 8 2006, 06:58 AM
from what i understand arn't dell pc's sealed units? so you may find it hard to get into if you need to upgrade,make sure you get everything you need now before hand
[snapback]3319438[/snapback]
my 2/3 year old 4600, and my dads xps 400 are easy to get into (ones got a tab you pull, and the other you just slide off the side cover), I've even used an old ass 8200 that opened like a clamshell. on my 4600 I've upgraded the gfx card, Processor, RAM psu, and cd drive.
__________________


Vista Home Premium x64
Cooler Master Centurion 5
AMD X2 5000+ @2.9 GHz
Corsair XMS2 4 GB DDR2 800 4-4-4-10 @415(830) MHz
EVGA 9600GT
250 WDC SE16 HDD/160 GB WDC SATA
LG Black 20X DVD+R/RW

WrightY-
the way you treat other members is appauling
ViperAFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 03:41 PM   #12
SpartanOps21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 977
Credits: 0
Savings: 0
Default

its not bad, but f you can, u might wanna upgrade ur ram to 2gb. the difference is huge in my opinion. i have 1 gb of ram, and it does go a little slow here and there.
__________________
SpartanOps21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 04:41 PM   #13
Hjalmar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 385
Credits: 0
Savings: 0
Send a message via MSN to Hjalmar
Default

$1800 sounds really expensive for that...
__________________
Hjalmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 04:46 PM   #14
DiabloDj1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA/RI
Age: 23
Posts: 5,658
Credits: 201
Savings: 0
Default

Originally posted by SpartanOps21@Dec 8 2006, 04:41 PM
its not bad, but f you can, u might wanna upgrade ur ram to 2gb. the difference is huge in my opinion. i have 1 gb of ram, and it does go a little slow here and there.
[snapback]3320695[/snapback]
2gb isnt needed yet, maybe with the next gen for gaming but with a decent cpu programs are fine..
__________________
Steam Acct with 12 games, $20, take it.

My Really Old Respect List: Namrac, Pink Floyd/Fry, ShneakySquirrel, xelink, xMasterx, GuitarGuru, Majiny, Jay, Renagade, Morv, Boxiom, AssailantOperative, Dementia., DarkStar., Broken, Blazeman
DiabloDj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 05:20 PM   #15
johndapunk FTW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Palm Beach
Age: 22
Posts: 2,597
Credits: 476
Savings: 0
Default

Uhh, I went to a currency converter and it said that computer is 1,414.43 USD. HOLY ----. DO NOT BUY IT. For $1400 it better have 2GB of Micron D9 IC's, E'6400/6600, Geforce 7950GT (or 8800GTS), etc etc. Although, you do need a monitor, so you could probably get like a custom built computer worth $1100-$1200, and get a $200 monitor.

ps-- all prices are in usd.
__________________
◄F.T.W. Oldies►
◄Wunsung, sYke, Mezrec, johndapunk, Jackal624, Charming►

johndapunk FTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Xps Prince Zainx Gaming 44 09-27-2006 11:40 PM
Dell TheDon129 General Discussion 6 06-23-2006 12:40 AM
How Do You Reformat A Dell Computer? &#124;2aMBo Gaming 11 02-20-2006 01:12 PM
Dell New Super Gaming Computer ViolentJ Gaming 34 02-01-2006 10:54 AM
Dell Xps DiabloDj1 Gaming 30 01-20-2006 01:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBCredits II Deluxe v2.1.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.