Go Back   GameRenders Forums > Entertainment > Gaming

Gaming Put those triggerfingers to another use and talk about your favourite games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2006, 06:13 PM   #1
Soulbishop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: L-Town Florida
Age: 25
Posts: 399
Credits: 450
Savings: 0
Send a message via MSN to Soulbishop
Default

Ok there is like a million things on how to speed up your connection but i cant use em for 2 reasons takes 4ever to look through and a SLOW CONNECTION lol so i was wondering could you guys help me speed up my connection I have Dsl but it seems slow to me Im running on a Intel Pentium 4 2.4 ghz
512mb of DDR SDRAM memory
80gb hardrive but only 40 or so is free
(I dont understand but) 64mb DDR SDRAM shared video memory
Im not exactly a pc wiz so excuse me if i bumbled some of the specs Please help

Merged Post:


oh i use opera browser because my firefox wont download anymore or let me go to the options menu if you can help me fix that too id be very grateful
__________________
The tag below is made from scratch with no photos or render

All tags are made from scratch unless i take the pic myself or draw the image it will not be used.

This^^^is made completely out of text.
Soulbishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 06:42 PM   #2
XMasterX
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Age: 29
Posts: 5,407
Credits: 557
Savings: 0
Send a message via MSN to XMasterX
Default

reinstall firefox, and get the most current version.

dsl can seem slow at times. there is no way to speed it up, or at least from your phone jack.

you might want to do a spy/ad-ware check, and a virus check won't hurt... try Spybot S&D, AD-aware, and Avast. if you can find nothing after that, try to do it in safe mode (press F8 before the XP splash comes up...)

might be good to do a malware check also... get Ewido. it is a trial for 30 days, but its good.

use google, ok?
__________________


-------Gifts--------
[X][X][X][X]

------ADV--------
Gamer's Unit - Cheats, Clans, and Fun
XMasterX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 06:44 PM   #3
Soulbishop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: L-Town Florida
Age: 25
Posts: 399
Credits: 450
Savings: 0
Send a message via MSN to Soulbishop
Default

ok ty
__________________
The tag below is made from scratch with no photos or render

All tags are made from scratch unless i take the pic myself or draw the image it will not be used.

This^^^is made completely out of text.
Soulbishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 06:50 PM   #4
DiabloDj1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA/RI
Age: 23
Posts: 5,658
Credits: 461
Savings: 0
Default

Download the trial of Diskeeper (go for pro trial as its double as long as home...)

diskeeper.com

Speed up your HD pretty well.
__________________
Steam Acct with 12 games, $20, take it.

My Really Old Respect List: Namrac, Pink Floyd/Fry, ShneakySquirrel, xelink, xMasterx, GuitarGuru, Majiny, Jay, Renagade, Morv, Boxiom, AssailantOperative, Dementia., DarkStar., Broken, Blazeman
DiabloDj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 03:46 PM   #5
Repenta
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 386
Credits: 0
Savings: 0
Default

is your computer an emachines?
__________________
THIS IS AWSOME!
Repenta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 04:33 PM   #6
Soulbishop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: L-Town Florida
Age: 25
Posts: 399
Credits: 450
Savings: 0
Send a message via MSN to Soulbishop
Default

Its a Hp Pavillion
__________________
The tag below is made from scratch with no photos or render

All tags are made from scratch unless i take the pic myself or draw the image it will not be used.

This^^^is made completely out of text.
Soulbishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 05:50 PM   #7
Repenta
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 386
Credits: 0
Savings: 0
Default

oh. well sometimes too many firewalls can slow it down, but then you are more able to get a virus. i found that the internet browser Opera is brilliant, much faster than IE
__________________
THIS IS AWSOME!
Repenta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 08:45 PM   #8
Shock3d
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,106
Credits: 260
Savings: 0
Default

It's better to de-activate the XP firewall and use the Virus one if you have one

I found that way easier
__________________
<div align="center">




<Saig0n> <Beowolf> <BonZai> <Shock3d> <AndreJu> <Rubidox> <double.frank> <Geno>
<<Unlimited Members>>
<Dynamik> <Monkey> <Dusk> <Scooby> <Showtime> <Tub A Wub> <2Fang> <Soul>


</div>
<div align="center">Kirbir was here laughing at choo!!</div>
Shock3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 09:22 PM   #9
toi
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ya do what he said
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:27 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBCredits II Deluxe - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2010-2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.