My New Computer Specs

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by bleach, Mar 10, 2006.

1. bleach

bleach Well-Known Member

Well it's time to trade in my junkie dell system and get something with some SHIZAAA. This time im not buying from a dealer like dell, allienware, ect. Im building my own. Im ordering it tomorow.

Heres what I have so far.

Asus A8N-SLI Premium skt 939 Motherboard
    Maxtor 250GB SATA Hard Drive 7200rpm 16MB Cache
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Skt 939
    Thermaltake Soprano 20" Tower Black with Side Window (No PSU)
    Enermax ELT500AWT Liberty 500W 20/24 pin ATX PSU
    Corsair TWINX Dual Channel 1024MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory
    eVGA GeForce 7800 GT CO SE / 256MB GDDR3

This is my first time building a computer. And I have put alot of time into searching for a good build. I consider this to be a high end system (not a dream system tho :()

Anyway, I just wanted to see if anyone had anything to say about it? Anything that I should know about, any suggestions? I know xelink is pretty smart when it comes to computers.
    Btw, this cost me 1800 canadian. Dont bother telling me to up my cpu to a 4400 or something cause my limit was supposed to be 1600$ :P

2. xlink

xlink GR's Tech Enthusiast

3. bleach

bleach Well-Known Member

What I like about the GFX card I have picked out right now is that its on sale for $357.99 while the one you listed is $458.99 (prices are in cdn remember). So I think im gettin a pretty sweet deal on that.

As for the opteron.. I have NEVER heard anything about them. Im clueless on the matter. So I will probably stick with what I know. Also, I want to try and stay away from OCing. It kills your equipment faster :/

4. fuRiouS_

fuRiouS_ Well-Known Member

Now thats where your wrong, Overclocking utilizes the most out of your processor. AMD's run better while overclocked. Overclocking does not in any way influence the life of your processor.

5. Generation

Generation Well-Known Member