PDA

View Full Version : New Hardrive Question


nightnin
10-04-2005, 03:44 AM
my hd died so im gonna buy a new one and like jus start from scratch, any1 reccomend anything i shuld get? drivers, software, tweaks ectc

4nub1s
10-04-2005, 03:52 AM
It depends on your motherboard. I could recommend a good one or two if you post the type of motherboard you're using. ;)

vondoom
10-04-2005, 03:53 AM
well....I recommend that the hd cache is at least 8MB and is running at or over 7200RPM this way you get really good performance from it.
If you are gaming 16MB cache is really good.

Prelithe
10-04-2005, 04:50 AM
If your motherboard supports it, get SATA (Serial ATA), heard it's very good (i.e. fast). 7200RPM and 120GB is the minimum you should get, Seagate is a good brand.

<Hoffy>
10-04-2005, 05:53 AM
yeh anything seagate or western digital is very good. i have a WD 120gig 7200rpm for my audio projects, and it works very well

-=DaRKSTaR=-
10-04-2005, 07:45 AM
Yep depends on motherboard - sometimes it has SATA150 or SATA133 was it cant remember on top of my head - I bought a 160GB SATA150 7200rpm so go with around that spec :D

How did ur HD die-lol? just curious

XMasterX
10-04-2005, 10:00 AM
Western Digital, Seagate, just don't get Maxtor, I had bad experiences with their older drives...

vondoom
10-04-2005, 02:11 PM
I just bought a new MAXTOR and it works really good... 7200RPM, 16MB cache, and its a 250GB...It was like adding another 512MB of ram to my computer.

XMasterX
10-04-2005, 05:39 PM
hmm, that was their early stuff, about 1gig, lol. So I guess they fixed their problems :lol:

nightnin
10-04-2005, 05:41 PM
yea i dont realli kno EXACTLY how my hd died
any1 care to help me? anyways i jus like turned it on one day and it said drive 0 the primary CIDE(i dont rememberletters-.-) driver is performing outside of specifications. it said back up info and get new hd or something. and wen i press f1 to continue everything lags. the com also makes funky noises all the time

Motionblur
11-03-2005, 07:40 AM
get one of these or two :o

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/wes...gital_sata.html (http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/westerndigital_sata.html)

Steel3cko
11-03-2005, 08:57 AM
what you should do is bring you computer to where ever your gunna get your new harddrive from and check with the people there to see if your computer is compatiable with that harddrive

Chadwick
11-03-2005, 11:23 AM
I suggest taking your computer/HD to a service place and having them check it out to see if your current one can be salvaged before buying a new one.

BUT, if you are going to buy a new one I suggest going with Western Digital, thats what I always go with and I love em.... Definately 7200RPM >_> If you can afford it I would go with a 250GB XD

xenocide
11-03-2005, 06:56 PM
Originally posted by Prelithe@Oct 4 2005, 08:50 AM
If your motherboard supports it, get SATA (Serial ATA), heard it's very good (i.e. fast). 7200RPM and 120GB is the minimum you should get, Seagate is a good brand.
not really they are about the same speed, its the bus speed that draggs it down.