PDA

View Full Version : Computer Question From An Idiot


Fitz
07-23-2005, 10:57 PM
yeah..i have no idea what specs my computer has(had), because i inherited it after it...stopped working...people said the BIOS is screwed, so i was wondering if i could just use the stuff in there that's good (power supply etc.) to do a little customization, i'll post pics later, and how could i find out what model/speed/etc. everything is? keep in mind it won't go any further than ms-dos when i turn it on, so it's screwed as far as taht goes, if i confuse anybody just tell me, ask me specific questions or something...most importantly how much would it probably cost?

Michael
07-23-2005, 11:00 PM
What does it say on the screen when you turn it on? You may just have to reload the OS.

Fitz
07-23-2005, 11:04 PM
it's shot, i've tried everything, it won't read the disc drive either, so i'd have to buy a new one of those, but i'm not interested in fixin it cuz..i already tried, i basically wanna redo everything except what i can get away with not gettin

cochise
07-23-2005, 11:09 PM
i dont understand what you want to do? are you just trying to salvage some parts before you toss the comp?

Fitz
07-23-2005, 11:15 PM
well no...i want to basically rebuild the computer, using waht parts i can from the original

Generation
07-23-2005, 11:15 PM
to know your own specs, click start on your desktop(bottom far left corno of your screen) and then on the right side of the bar, click run and type the following "DXDIAG" and press the ok button, and bam should show up.

Fitz
07-23-2005, 11:16 PM
Originally posted by GenerationGX@Jul 23 2005, 09:15 PM
to know your own specs, click start on your desktop(bottom far left corno of your screen) and then on the right side of the bar, click run and type the following "DXDIAG" and press the ok button, and bam should show up.
i could be a moron and say "you should've read the whole thing" but i skim through too, it doesn't come on all the way, if it came on i wouldn't fool with rebuilding it :P

cochise
07-23-2005, 11:19 PM
does the floppy drive work? if it does you can try an os called damnsmalllinux...it comes on a floppy drive...all you need to do is dl it and put it on floppy...check it out....

Fitz
07-23-2005, 11:20 PM
Originally posted by GNU@Jul 23 2005, 09:19 PM
does the floppy drive work? if it does you can try an os called damnsmalllinux...it comes on a floppy drive...all you need to do is dl it and put it on floppy...check it out....
it's windows <_<

edit: i'll mess with all this later, in about an hour or two, then i'll see if i can get it on with the linux and stuff, i got sh*t to do know, shower, dishes, etc :P

cochise
07-23-2005, 11:21 PM
that doesnt matter...i had windows when i installed linux...

cochise
07-23-2005, 11:24 PM
actually scratch that idea...because when you use something like damnsmalllinux you need to know the specs of your hardware....your better off salvaging what you can...and going to a comp shop and have them figure out what you can do with them

Iceman
07-23-2005, 11:44 PM
if i was u i would just go to http://www.tigerdirect.com/ get your self a new asus mother board and a nice socket 939 amd 64 Processor and use may be a nice cdwr or a dvdrw and use your old case and hard drive and video card.....dont forget the ram..........
just got done doning the same thing saved old hard drives but had to get a new

case
asus mother board
socket 939 amd 64 Processor
Video Card
ddr ram
all for around 500 or so just look for whats on sale if u want to save
some cash,.......

Fitz
07-23-2005, 11:57 PM
actually...i have a new plan...i was looking for a floppy for taht linux thing...i found this

INTEGRATED CONTROLLER UATA FILES FOR WIN 95

and..considering it is a 95...this may work...*runs*

edit: nothing...i can see when i turn the comp on that's it's a pentium II processor...greatness :P

elusive
07-24-2005, 12:19 AM
just restore it man they did give u a disk right ?

Fitz
07-24-2005, 12:20 AM
dude..this computer is like...7 years old...i have no idea where all the disks are