PDA

View Full Version : Equitment Question


▀łέέđ
01-02-2005, 08:55 AM
what woulkd i need to make my comp (HOME EDITION DELL 2003 or 2004) faster?and is there any webpages on how to install the equitment? any help would be apprecaited and also when u tell me what equitment i need please name some good brands of that equitment!
also can u get me links to all the supplers of dsl and their webpage, because all the ones i find can supply me dsl where i live. (ALABAMA)

and can u name any other hardware or software i mgiht need to uprgeade my comp and make it faster(im on short budget 350 $$$$

thanks

bloody :blink:

PointZero125
01-02-2005, 11:16 AM
Maybe you could give us more detail of the problem and what your current specs are?

CrimsonSinx
01-02-2005, 11:21 AM
Well seeing as how its ahrdware your looking for. I would suggest maybe some RAM. As far as software goes, most of its a good deal over 200 dollars (US). Also, RAM isnt that much. But overal, I would go with RAM because it gives you more memory. Save up for software with whatever money you have left.

PointZero125
01-02-2005, 11:34 AM
He just said he wants it to go 'faster'. RAM isn't necessairly the problem. It could be adware/virus's/or hardware. We don't know. I need to know more information before I can just start naming thing's to do.

Seed
01-02-2005, 01:06 PM
RAM is always a good investment, but the speed of a computer depends on other factors such as processor speed, if the box is overloaded with spy/adware, hard drive capacity and so on and so on. We really need more details on the specs of his computer before we can advise him what to get.

▀łέέđ
01-02-2005, 01:26 PM
i bought the 500 dollor dell and i think its specs are this:

Intel« Pentium« 4 Processor (2.80GHz, 533 FSB)

Microsoft« Windows« XP Home Edition

256MB DDR SDRAM at 400MHz

40GB Ultra ATA/100 7200RPM Hard Drive

i got it off the site.

http://www1.us.dell.com/content/products/c...s=19&l=en&s=dhs (http://www1.us.dell.com/content/products/category.aspx/desktops?c=us&cs=19&l=en&s=dhs)

i think that is my comp

Seed
01-02-2005, 01:40 PM
Originally posted by bloodyhands35@Jan 2 2005, 06:26 PM
256MB DDR SDRAM at 400MHz




^This is one of your main speed problems right there. XP takes a bare minimum of 128 megabytes to run and that is without AV, so you need to upgrade the RAM to at least to 512 mb or more. I have a Dell machine which I bought that came with 512 mb and it was good enough at the time for me, but I eventually upgraded to a 1 gig of RAM.

▀łέέđ
01-02-2005, 01:48 PM
how much will that cost me and how do i install it got any sites?

▀łέέđ
01-02-2005, 01:50 PM
ive only got 350$$$ and thats left over form christmas\

Sensi
01-04-2005, 10:53 PM
All you do is buy the stick of ram and stick it in its very ez. And it will cost around 100-200 im guessing.

CWD
01-05-2005, 12:28 AM
At TigerDirect there is a deal for 1020 RAM ( 1 gig ) for $170

Im gettin it as well.

Tigerdirect.com

Go there, good deals most times.