PDA

View Full Version : Ping


-Aus10kid-
12-31-2004, 01:43 PM
All of sudden when I play CoD: UO, is says my ping is like around 300-500, when usually it is about about 90-110. It as just today gone up, I don't understand whats happening, it can't be spyware because I scanned my computer yesterday. Any help would be greatlly appreciated.

Harry Ballzz
12-31-2004, 01:51 PM
Run a virus scan,run adaware if you have it, restart comp, unplug internet for about a minute, and try to remeber all the sites you went to.

HydrogeN
12-31-2004, 02:00 PM
Ok then, try this:

Questions
=======

1) What connection are you using? [SPEED]
2) What server was this happening on?
3) Does this happen randomly or on specific servers?
4) Have you made sure your firewall / ISP and router settings are all in order? [if you have a router that is :D]
5) Are you running any other download clients, web broswers or server scriptlets on your computer at the same time? [e.g. bitorrent, firefox + IE, Java Server]

Recommended Action
===============

1) Read my questions and answer as fully as possible.
2) If you are on a constant connection to the internet, try diconnecting and reconnecting.
3) Check you play on local, national or continental servers to minimize lag.
4) If your connection is shared, try switching off the other machines or checking their internet activities.
5) If you are on a wireless connection, ensure that you do not have any high emmision radio / microwave devices / interfering objects between sourec and reciever (yes, take down that foil wallpaper -- thats so 70's :D)

You might also want to check the game log for server errors etc...

-Aus10kid-
12-31-2004, 02:46 PM
Originally posted by L4mBdA@Dec 31 2004, 06:00 PM
Ok then, try this:

Questions
=======

1) What connection are you using? [SPEED]
2) What server was this happening on?
3) Does this happen randomly or on specific servers?
4) Have you made sure your firewall / ISP and router settings are all in order? [if you have a router that is :D]
5) Are you running any other download clients, web broswers or server scriptlets on your computer at the same time? [e.g. bitorrent, firefox + IE, Java Server]

Recommended Action
===============

1) Read my questions and answer as fully as possible.
2) If you are on a constant connection to the internet, try diconnecting and reconnecting.
3) Check you play on local, national or continental servers to minimize lag.
4) If your connection is shared, try switching off the other machines or checking their internet activities.
5) If you are on a wireless connection, ensure that you do not have any high emmision radio / microwave devices / interfering objects between sourec and reciever (yes, take down that foil wallpaper -- thats so 70's :D)

You might also want to check the game log for server errors etc...
Questions
=======

1) ADSL
2) All of them, its not at 500 anymore, my ping is back to normaal. but its still quite laggy
3) Its happening on all the servers
4) Yes I have, and i've run spybot on the interent host computer (the one I get my interent off)
5) Nope

Thanks for this L4mBdA and Dirty-Harry Ballzz

mav
12-31-2004, 03:59 PM
Do you use a router?

-Aus10kid-
12-31-2004, 08:28 PM
Yeah, and I also have a firewall that comes with the router, the windows firewall and a McAffee firewall

CWD
01-01-2005, 03:28 AM
ugh...i have a firewall too.

I think that if it was the Firewall, the mult play wouldnt work at all.
I dont think it would just create lag, but wat do i know. im 13

-Aus10kid-
01-01-2005, 07:47 AM
Originally posted by CWD@Jan 1 2005, 07:28 AM
ugh...i have a firewall too.

I think that if it was the Firewall, the mult play wouldnt work at all.
I dont think it would just create lag, but wat do i know. im 13
yeah, i'm 13 also, but I do know a reasonable amount of stuff about computers

HydrogeN
01-01-2005, 07:55 AM
I'm running off a router too and I've had the same problems with games. I read some internet articles concerning the router settings, specifically the packet size / MTU [Maximum Transition Unit] Size.

If you're using a PPPoE connection this MTU value can sometimes cause internet problems. Try changing your MTU setting from the Router control panel to 1492 or 1452. If you are using a Wireless G router, this can help enormously.

[Note: If when you check your settings you are currently on 1492, try changing it to 1500 to see which one works best for you]

You might also want to check that the default ports for your game are 'open' in the inbuilt router firewall.

I hope this sorts the problem.

pulse940
01-01-2005, 02:13 PM
the router is most likely the problem. it could also be that your system is low on resources

Kracker Boy
01-01-2005, 06:39 PM
yea i agree it might be the router

aphex
01-01-2005, 08:03 PM
Ok are you at a company that once you reach your download limit your speed gets shaped (lowered in speed) to say dialup speed to stop extra costs.. I know its like that here in Aus.

HydrogeN
01-01-2005, 08:07 PM
Ah good point!
Most major ADSL operaters offer a package like the one you've described these days.
If that is the case, I would recommend upgrading the package ^^

MattMann
01-02-2005, 12:39 AM
yeah alot of times my internet will start laggin and its cause my ports arnt forwarded right on my router. So check that:D

FuZoRBlade
01-19-2005, 07:24 PM
might be the server u are playing on. Ping is not only determined by YOUR end.